Schools Golf Championships: Hilton dominate selection for interprovincial tournament

2012-09-04 00:00

THE KZN School Golf Championships took place at the Royal Durban Golf Course earlier this month, and from the 12 schools that participated, Hilton College came out the winners. The championships were played over 36 holes in teams of eight, with the five best scores to count.

This is the third year in succession that Hilton have won this event. The best individual score over the 36 holes was 145, and Greg Royston of Kearsney and Keaton Bottriell of Hilton were the joint winners.

Hilton were then involved in the 32-school St John’s International Tournament with four other KZN schools, Michaelhouse, Maritzburg College, Westville and Clifton. This annual tournament is held at Sun City and has teams of four who play over four days.

The first two days are played as betterball Stableford, with both pairs’ scores counting. The second two days are individual Stableford with the best three scores of the four to count. In 2004, the first year of this competition, Michaelhouse won the event, but since then no KZN school has won.

It was not a good tournament for the KZN winners, Hilton, as they had two of their better players missing and they were the only KZN school not to improve their position over the four days.

The other KZN boys adapted to the varying conditions of the two courses — the Gary Player and Lost City greens — where each of the formats was played.

The two highest placed KZN teams, Maritzburg College and Westville, were in seventh place with 304 points. Michaelhouse were just a point behind, but placed 10th as the hosts St Johns were also in seventh place. Hilton came in 16th with 295 points and Clifton were 22nd with 274 points.

Tuks Sports High were the winner for the second consecutive year with a score of 330. Second, one point behind, were Waterkloof and the dark horse of the competition, Dainfern College of Sandton, came in third with 324 points.

Following the schools championships in Durban, KZN schools A and B teams were selected. There are eight players in each and they are selected in their stroke play positions over eight rounds, with six to count, played over the year at various courses. They will play in the schools’ interprovincial tournament during the Michaelmas holidays at the Koro Creek Golf Club in Limpopo.

Hilton dominate with two in the A side and three in the B side.

Kearsney have one player in the A side and two in the B team.

Both College and Westville supply two players to the A side.

KZN Schools A: Clayton Mansfield (Westville) Ben Botha (Wvl), Malcolm Mitchell (Maritzburg College), Keaton Bottriell (Hilton), Greg Royston (Kearsney), Riaan Swanepoel (MC), Ricky Towel (Glenwood), Guy Waterhouse (Htn)

KZN Schools B: Brendan Buys (Michaelhouse), James Kennedy (Ksny), Chris Saunders (Htn), Jonathon Botha (Richards Bay Christian School), Matt Lauryssen (Htn), Nicholas Morgan (Clifton), Jarryd Edy (Htn), Greg McKay (Ksny) publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.