Schools’ Pro20 competition to start in a few weeks

2010-09-28 00:00

CRICKET South Africa, through the provincial unions, is getting the Schools’ Pro20 competition off to a start in the next few weeks where schools in all areas of KZN will determine winners to play in the regional final on November 13.

This is a far better arrangement than the sudden onset of the competition at the beginning of the year where schools had very little prior notice.

It is again sponsored by Standard Bank and will have the six franchises playing in a national final.

During March this year Maritzburg College was just pipped by Menlopark­ from the Titans in the national final. This is a knock-out competition open to all high schools in the country.

In the KZN Inland region the first rounds take place from the beginning of the term, with the quarter-finals on November 3 when the four big schools play their first matches in the competition.

Schools from the Northern Suburbs (EPS, Eastwood, Dunveria, Nizamia, Kharina, Woodlands, Heather, ML Sultan, Northbury Park and Raisethorpe) will play the winner from the Central schools (Alexandra, Imbali, Carter, Linpark, Maritzburg Christian, Voortrekker and Heritage Academy) on October 27.

The Midlands Zone 1 winner from Howick, Treverton, Weston and Estcourt­ will play the winner from Zone 2 which will come from Wartburg, Grace, Greytown, Wembley and Hermannsburg.

The Southern District schools have also been divided into two zones and they will also play for a place in the later stages. Zone 1 consists of King Edward, St Monica, Mount Curry and St Patricks. Zone 2 has Ixopo, Marianthal, Kokstad and Little Flower playing.

Northern KZN has been divided into four zones with the winner from the schools in the Ladysmith area (Ladysmith High School, Ladysmith SS, Incinjane, Kliprivier, Sakelwe and Windsor) playing the winner from the schools in the Dundee area (Glencoe, Ethangeni, Dundee, Sarel Cilliers and Dannhauser).

The winner from the Vryheid area schools (Pionier, Vryheid, Utrecht and Vryheid Landbou) will play the winner from those in the Newcastle area (Ferrum, Amajuba, Xolani, Oswalds, Hope, Newcastle, St Dominics and Lincoln).

Play-offs between the winners will end up with the quarter-finals taking place on November 3 where St Charles will play the Midlands winner­, Maritzburg College will play the winner from the Southern Districts, Hilton will play the winner from Northern KZN and Michaelhouse will play the Maritzburg winners.

The semi-finals on November 10 then see the winners from the St Charles and Hilton matches against the winners from the Michaelhouse and College games, with the regional final on November 13.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.