Selectors pick SA boys’ hockey teams

2011-07-04 00:00

THE SA U18 and U17 sides were announced following the presentation of the medals to the top three teams at the closure of the Boy’s U18 hockey interprovincial tournament that was held at Kearsney College. The three provinces that finished in the top three all had four players selected.

Western Province beat KZN Inland in the final and Amathola (previously Border) was the third-placed team after beating KZN Coastals in the play-off (story in tomorrow’s Witness).

Maritzburg College tops the individual schools’ list with four players in the U18 team. There were two players from each of Bishops and Grey HS, the only other schools to have more than one player selected.

The SA U17 team includes four players who are in the U18 team. Queens College has four U17 players Maritzburg College three and St Stithians and Bishops have two each.

This does give some indication of where the strength in schoolboy hockey will probably lie in 2012.

The U17s will be involved in a training camp early next year.

The U18 team is already in Pretoria where they will be playing three tests against an Australian U18 team on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday this week. All the junior test matches will be held at St Albans College.

There are two U17 players who played in the B section at the IPT, showing that the selectors did not only watch the A section teams.

SA U18: Nicholas Berichon (KZN Inland-Maritzburg College), Chad Cairncross (Eastern Province-Grey HS), Mkululi Calana (Amathole-Dale), Kirwin Christoffels (Amathole-Queens), Cerezo Comerasamy (Amathole-Stirling), James Drummond (Western Province-Bishops), Grant Glutz (KZNI-M College), Ross Gonsalves (S Gauteng-KES), Bernard Greybe (WP-Pinelands), Timothy Guise-Brown (KZNI-M College), Kewan Harries (KZNI-M College), Hendri Kroucamp (S Free State-Grey College), Ignatius Malgraff (Amathole-Hudson Park), Michael Mulder (WP-Central Hockey Club), Dayne Samboer (EP-Grey HS), Sumanth Sunkari (KZN Coastals-UKZN), Dylan Swanepoel (Boland-Paul Roos), Michael Watson (WP-Bishops).

SA U17: R Ashforth (KZNI-Michaelhouse), M Baiden (Amathole-Queens), D Bell (S Gauteng-St Stithians), C Bosch (N Gauteng-Pretoria BHS), M Calana (Amathole-Dale), S Cant (S Gauteng-St Stithians), K Christoffels (Amathole-Queens), T Dikgale (S Gauteng B-Crawford Sandton), J Drummond (WP-Bishops), T Guise-Brown (KZNI-M College), L Jackson (Amathole-Queens), U Kopo (Amathole B-Queens), L Mafilika (KZNI-M College), M Marki (S Gauteng-Parktown), S Mdekeni (Amathole-Hudson Park), S Ryall (WP-Bishops), W Scott (EP-Victoria Park), C van den Berg (KZNI-M College).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.