Sharks: last friendly before Cup clash

2010-06-24 00:00

THE Sharks get their final preparations for the upcoming Absa Currie Cup under way with a compulsory friendly match against the Valke at the John Vorster Stadium in Nigel, Gauteng, tomorrow night at 6 pm.

The team composition could change significantly when Sharks travel to Kimberley to take on Griquas in their first-round Currie Cup match on Saturday, 10 July.

They are resisting the urge to take up a completely experimental side and recognise the need to give game time to those who need it and an opportunity to those who deserve it, while taking into account the fact that a number of frontline players are currently on the injured and rehab list.

The captaincy is handed to fullback Stefan Terblanche, who performed the same duties for much of last year’s Currie Cup. Louis Ludik, the off-season signing from the Lions, is now over his long-term rehabilitation following a devastating knee injury suffered against the touring British and Irish Lions a year ago and he has been selected on the wing with impressive young Vodacom Cup flyer Mark Richards on the other.

Andries Strauss and Piet Lindeque (SA Schools 2009) form the centre partnership with Steve Meyer back at flyhalf, having announced an early retirement in January for personal reasons, but finding this announcement premature. Rory Kockott comes in at scrumhalf.

Among the forwards, Tendai Mtawarira, Craig Burden and Wiehahn Herbst form the front row, with Alistair Hargreaves and Anton Bresler as the two locks.

Keegan Daniel at eighth man and Michael Rhodes and Jacques Botes complete the starting lineup with a mix of youth and experience among the replacements.


The Sharks

15. Stefan Terblanche (Capt), 14. Mark Richards, 13. Piet Lindeque, 12. Andries Strauss, 11. Louis Ludik, 10. Steve Meyer, 9. Rory Kockott, 8. Keegan Daniel, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Alistair Hargreaves, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Wiehahn Herbst, 2. Craig Burden, 1. Tendai Mtawarira


16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Patric Cilliers, 18. Eugene van Staden, 19. Justin Downey, 20. Charl McLeod, 21. Monty Dumond, 22. Dwayne Jenner.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.