Siyabonga Nkonde crowned KZN’s 10?km champion

2011-03-22 00:00

SIYABONGA Nkonde was crowned the 2011 KZN 10 km champion when he won Sunday’s Stella 10 km race around the Umbilo and Glenwood circuit.

Nkonde had things in control for most of the race with only Thobani Chagwe giving some form of challenge over the early kilometres. The Madadeni athlete earned the title in 30mins 37secs, with Chagwe almost exactly a minute adrift, and Sifuninkosi Nqgoyingile taking bronze in 32mins 33secs.

The women’s race was equally clear-cut with Jenna Challenor 300 metres clear of Danielle Adlam at the line. Challenor’s time of 36mins 56secs was a fair reflection of the hilly course, which may have deterred some runners from attempting the championship event. Nedbank’s Cary Ann Smith prevented the Boxer club from a clean sweep of the podium, securing third place in 38:17.

Despite the championship status, one of the referees stated that the athletes did not complete the entry forms with age categories, which meant that at time of going to print the age group awards had not been released.

Disappointingly, most of the runners opted for the two-lap 25 km race over the 10 km championships event, which is a pure indication of the running club focus on Two Oceans and Comrades.

Bluff Meats Formula One’s Samson Tenai pulled away from Joseph Mandizha in the final kilometre to secure victory in 1:25:32.

Mandizha, who was only seven seconds off the pace, had the consolation of adding the 35-39 age category award to his winnings. Knowledge Khumalo was off the bus earlier in the race, but his 1:27:56 finish was good enough for third.

Grace de Oliveira led a trio of Boxer athletes in for a clean sweep of the podium.

De Oliveira, who also won the 40-49 category, took line honours in 1:49:49. Janine Cary, first in the 35-39, was 300 metres behind at the line with Sibongile Mpanza third, just failing to break the two-hour barrier by 41 seconds.

Earlier Eloi de Oliveira gave the family an additional boost with a win in the 50-59 age group in 1:48:44, a time he shared with Michael Langa of Athletics North, who was the leading runner in the 60+ age group.

Mr Price’s Washington Zuma and Richard Dlamini ran together for much of the Umgeni Water marathon, with Zuma having a 120 metre advantage at the line, which he crossed in 2:33:29. Dlamini was first in the 40-49 age group, while Estcourt’s Thulani Duma was third in 2:36:25 seconds.

With Melanie van Rooyen stepping down to the 32 km distance, the field was open for Nedbank’s Kerry Koen to take the podium in the women’s race in 3:11:45, with her former Collegians Harriers team-mate, Sarah Scott, breathing down her neck only 150 metres adrift. Nicola McMurray from the Mtunzini club was a distant third in 3:22:45.

The hot and humid conditions and the course made for relatively slow times, although many runners were using this as training for Two Oceans and Comrades.

Van Rooyen, who has run a number of marathons in recent months, was unchallenged in the 32 km, which she completed in 2:20:57, exactly 12 minutes faster than second-placed Sandy de Beer, who also won the 40-49 age group.

Xolani Ngubane won the men’s 32 km in 1:50:33.


10 km Run incorporating the KZN Championships

Men: 1. Siyabonga Nkonde Madadeni A C30:37, 2. Thobani Chagwe Boxer A C31:38, 3. Sifuninkosi Nqgoyingile Corr Serv 32:33

Women: 1. Jenna Challenor Boxer A C36:56, 2. Danielle Adlam Boxer A C37:50, 3. Cary Ann Smith Nedbank A C38:17

10 km Walk

Men: 1. Prof Cele Ind A C51:26, 2. Wade Fraser DUT C55:33, 3. Simphiwe Bhengu Ind A C55:44

Ladies: 1. Khethiwe Memela Boxer A C63:20, 2. Cecily Fraser Hi Way A C70:32, 3. Maxine Mechanicos Savages A C71:07

25 km

Men: 1. Samson Tenai Form One A C1:25:32, 2. Joseph Mandizha Ind A C1:25:39, 3. Knowledge Khumalo Mr Price A C1:27:56

35 to 39: 1. Joseph Mandizha Ind A C1:25:39, 2. Thembinkosi Gumede Boxer A C1:32:50, 3. Bheki Khumalo Wyebank A C1:37:19

40 to 49: 1. Laurance Chipongwa Nedbank A C1:28:31, 2. Peter Sehloho Boxer A C1:34:25, 3. Sibongeni Subunye A C1:36:25

50 to 59: 1. Eloi De Oliveira Boxer A C1:48:44

60+: 1. Michael Langa Athletic North 1:48:44

Women : 1. Grace de Oliveira Boxer A C1:49:49, 2. Janine Cary Boxer A C1:50:41, 3. Sibongile Mpanza Boxer A C2:00:41

35 to 39: 1. Janine Carey Boxer A C1:50:41, 2. Sibongile Mpanza Boxer A C2:00:41, 3. Margaret Scharien Chiltern`2:01:46

40 to 49: 1. Grace de Oliveira Boxer A C1:49:49, 2. Mary Mvelase Boxer A C2:14:37

1. M Michelle Wilmans West A C2:16:27

50 to 59: 1. Jenny Scott DCS2:11:41

60+: 1. Eunice Nxumalo Savages A C3:01:23


Umgeni Water Marathon

Men: 1. Washington Zuma Mr Price A C2:33:29, 2. Richard Dlamini Mr Price A C2:33:55, 3. Thulani Duma Estcourt A C2:36:25

40 to 49: Richard Dlamimi Mr Price A C2:33:55

50 to 59: Sandile Khuzwayo Hulamin A C3:02:57

60+: Eric Quabell Hillcrest Vil C3:29:18

Women : 1. Kerry Koen Nedbank A C3:11:45, 2. Sarah Scott Coll Harr 3:12:27, 3. Nicola McMurray Mtunzini A C3:22:45

40 to 49: Erica Walker Ntl Carbs C3:25:02

50 to 49: Elize Cilliers Savages A C4:12:52

60+: Maureen Parry Chiltern A C4:43:14

32 km

Men: 1. Xolani Ngubane Mr Price A C1:50:33, 2. Thuso Mosieo Escom Gilj C1:51:33, 3. Lawrence Sibiya Coll Harr C1:55:40

40 to 49: Mduso Gumede Phumanthi A C2:20:58

50 to 59: Joseph Dumakude Verulam A C2:32:12

60+: Andrew Smythe Coll Harr C3:16:55

Women: 1. Melanie v Rooyen R/Bay A C2:20:57, 2. Sandy de Beer SANDF C2:32:57, 3. Maureen Slack Riverside Harriers C2:33:23

40 to 49: Sandy de Beer SANDF C2:32:57

50 to 59: Judith Geldenhuys Est A C2:3641

15 km

Men: 1. Michael Mzobe SCS50:17, 2. Sipho Tsepho Boxer A C51:03

Women: 1. Kirsten Williams Coll Harr C62:35, 2. Kim Westbrook Hilton Harr C70:23.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.