Sizzling start to aQuelle Mudman Series

2010-02-13 00:00

THE aQuelle Mudman Series got off to a sizzling start last weekend with over 600 participants enjoying the summer heat and great vibe at the “home of Mudman”, Hermannsburg School.

The full-distance swim event again proved highly competitive. After battling it out over a 600 m swim, a 20 km mountain bike ride and a 5 km trail run, Ryan Redman emerged victorious ahead of Andre Booyens in second and Jean-Paul van der Linde third.

Sarah Scott had a good start to the season, winning the women’s race ahead of Dusi star Abigail Adie in second and super-mom Landy Puddu in third. The full-distance canoe event was won by Murray Craib in the men’s race and Jean Hackland in the wo­men’s race.

The half-distance swim event was won by U14 athlete James Damant and Savannah Schuit in the girls. Craig Jarrett and Cana Peek were the winners of the half-distance canoe event.

The next event in the Series is hos­ted by Epworth School at Albert Falls dam on the February 28, and a guppy canoe race will take place this afternoon. Full details: or contact George Forder at 082 774 7530.


Full-distance swim: Men: R Redman 1h27.03 (Jeep), A Booyens (Jeep) 1h31.06, JP van der Linde 1h32.31 (Jeep). Women: S Scott (aQua Bodyworks) 1h46.29, A Adie (Varsity College) 1h49.53, L Puddu (Jeep) 1h51.42. Full distance Canoe: Men: M Craib 1h43, M Robinson 1h46.42, B Martens 1h49.33. Women: J Hackland 1h51.28, J Redman 1h55.23, C Minnaar 2h10.49.

Stander, Speedy on top format MTB Nationals

Nothing could stop the pre-race favourites for the first MTN cross-country event of the year. Last Saturday, just outside Alberton, Burry Stander (Specialized/MR Price) and Yolandé Speedy (MTN-Energade) continued to dominate the MTN National CrossCountry Series.

Stander’s winning time for the six-lap (6,28 km) race was one hour 57 minutes 59 seconds. Philip Buys (Garmin Adidas) finished second overall and won the U23 category in 2:03:17. Marc Bassingthwaighte (Garmin Adidas) finished third in 2:03:45, and he was second in the elite category.

Speedy’s winning time for the fourlap race was 1:36:56. Hungarian Eszter Erdelyi Cluer (Multigirl Jeep) fi­nished a creditable second in 1:41:12, Mariska Strauss (MTN-Energade) was third in the pro-elite category, while winning the women’s U23 race in 1:42.06.

KZN’s Candice Neethling (DCM) won the junior women’s race (1:19:36), while Hayley Smith won the youth women’s category (1:26:13).


There is another busy weekend of mountain biking with the Wartburg Spar MTB Classic taking place this morning.

For those who overslept, be sure not to miss the Valentine’s Day special; the inaugural Blythedale Coastal Resort MTB Classic takes place from Cane and Spoke Trail Centre (adjacent to Blythedale Coastal Resort) tomorrow morning.

The event offers three races; the 40 km MTB Classic, the 19 km Family Ride and a 6 km kids’ MTB race, which doubles as a trail run or walk. Registration will be open from 6.30 am to 8.30 am, with the first race (40 km) starting at 8.30 am. Late entries will be taken on the day.

To get there, take the N2 highway north from Durban, travel about 65 km and leave the highway at the Blythedale Beach off-ramp. Follow the road (R74) toward the beach for 2 km and turn right at the sign marked “Cane & Spoke”. Follow the dirt road and the signs. Infomation:

• Andrew Hill and David Low conquered the Holla Trails Golovane X-Plor­e mountain bike race in blisteringly hot conditions last Sunday. With the temperatures soaring above 40°C in some places, the emphasis for the racers was always going to be on pacing on the tough 85 km race inland of Ballito, and Hill and Low got their tactics right to claim a massive victory.

After a tough battle throughout the race, Sean Peschl and Andrew Warr limped over the line for second, before Warr was placed on a drip by the medics at the finish — one of 12 people who were rehydrated in this manner. Jeremy Hulsen and Wayne Jelliman took third, six minutes behind Peschl and Warr.

Robyn Adendorff and Sarah van Heerden were easy winners of the women’s race, with Jennifer Soutar and Shale Exelby second and Tania Raats and Natalie Unstead third. The heat was the biggest winner with 99 riders out of 418 not completing the event.


Last weekend’s intense heat took its toll on the KZN Road and Time Trial Championships in Camperdown. Saturday’s time trial saw Werner Moolman taking the ho­nours in the Elite Men in 43min 19sec for the 30 km time trial. A.C. Swane­poel claimed second ahead of Martin Atterbury. Nadine Henderson clocked the fas­test time in the women’s 30km time trial of 58min 12sec.

Pietermaritzburg’s Marlyn Pitout deservedly won the KZN Road Championships. Team-mate Clinton Olsen was second and David Leiman third. Claire Matthews became the KZN Women’s Road Cycling Champion as she won the Elite women’s category ahead of Simone Karshagen and Eliziah Boshoff.

• Road cyclists can look forward to the Battery Centre Ryan Maullin Memorial Midmar Notts Cycle Challenge on Sunday, February 28. The event includes two race distances, 80 km and 30 km, and starts and finishes at Midmar Dam. Enter on Pre-entry fee: 80 km, R120 or R150 after February 24.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.