Smith, De Villiers among 21 with top reserve price

2010-12-23 00:00

CAPE TOWN — Leading Proteas Graeme Smith and AB de Villiers look set for another massive payday from the IPL after being named among the 21 players with the highest reserve price of $400 000 (R2,7 million) for next year’s auction.

The auction will be held in Bangalore on January 8 and 9.

They are among the biggest names in the game although there are some notable absentees — Australians Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke and Mitchell Johnson won’t be involved, and once again the troubled Pakistan camp has been ignored.

West Indies legend Brian Lara is also among the group of new names along with current England stars Graeme Swann, Stuart Broad and James Anderson.

Twelve players who were retained by their franchises will not feature in the auction.

Star batsman Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, West Indian Kieron Pollard and Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka were retained by the Mumbai Indians.

Reigning champions Chennai Super Kings kept Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay and SA all-rounder Albie Morkel.

The Aussie duo of Shane Warne and Shane Watson were retained by Rajasthan Royals, while Delhi Daredevils kept Virender Sehwag and Bangalore Royal Challengers retained Virat Kohli.

Franchises have $9 million (R62 million) to spend on their personnel.

There are 10 teams involved with 74 matches and the season looks set to go ahead despite the threat of court action.

The Indian organisers released a list of 416 players for the auction.

The 2011 tournament is scheduled to run from April 8 to May 22.

— Media24.

The players with the reserve price of $400 000 are:

Daniel Vettori, Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor, Adam Gilchrist, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, James Anderson, Kevin Pietersen, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy, Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, Yuvraj Singh, Graeme Smith, AB de Villiers, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Brian Lara, Chris Gayle

Second Tier ($300 000):

Jacques Kallis, Muttiah Muralitharan, Zaheer Khan, Yusuf Pathan, Shaun Tait, Andrew Symonds, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara

Third Tier ($200 000):

Sourav Ganguly, Gautam Gambhir, Michael Hussey, Doug Bollinger, D. Nannes, Eoin Morgan, Robin Uthappa, Sanath Jayasuriya, David Hussey.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.