Soccer: school sides selected

2013-08-13 00:00

TRIALS were held over a week ago for the Maritzburg teams in four age groups to represent the district at the inter-districts tournament later this month.

The sides were named by convenor Daniel Haswell. Following the inter-districts, a KZN Schools XI will be selected.

Maritzburg College dominate with 16 players, followed by Carter with 15 players.

Alexandra High School dominate the selections for the Maritzburg U19 side with five, but only have another five in the other three age groups. St Charles follow with nine players and there are two each from Maritzburg Christian, Voortrekker and Linpark.

The squad of 14 players consists of one being goalkeeper, the defenders two to five, midfielders seven and eight, wings six and nine, and strikers 10 and 11. The two extra are a midfielder and a striker.

Maritzburg U19: 1. B Petersen (M College), 2. R Moon (MC), 3. T Jamolodeen (Carter), 4. M Sithole (Ctr), 5. T Dlamini (Maritzburg Christian School), 6. M Ndlovu (Alexandra), 7. N Nkunezi (Alex), 8. M Mkhize (Alex), 9. B Zulu (Alex), 10. L Shange (MC), 11. K Tomlinson (Ctr), 12. T Dladla (MC), 13. T Khumalo (Alex), 14. B Philpott (St Charles).

Coach: I Kajee (Carter)

Maritzburg U16: 1. Luke Dallaway (St Charles), 2. T Ncgobo (Carter), 3. NK Ncgobo (St C), 4. P January (Ctr), 5. G Mkhize (Alexandra), 6. S Mpanza (Maritzburg College), 7. T Dlungwana (MC), 8. M Makhaye (Ctr), 9. L Chaka (MC), 10. S Msomi (MC), 11. K Muchaonyerwa (Maritzburg Christian School), 12. K Mkhabele (St C), 13 N N Ngcobo (MC), 14. L Khubeka (Ctr).

Coach: M Trout (M College)

Maritzburg U15: 1. S Magoso (Maritzburg College), 2. N Ximba (Alexandra), 3. A Mthamlane (Alex), 4. S Banda (St Charles), 5. S Ndlovu (Voortrekker), 6. T Bachoo (MC), 7. A De Beer (Carter), 8. B Naidoo (MC), 9. N Shezi (Ctr), 10. B Njapha (MC), 11. S Krone (St C), 12. A Hlongwani (Ctr), 13. P Khuzwayo (Linpark), 14. M Mokoena (Lpk).

Coach: D Padayachee (M College)

Maritzburg U14: 1. L Zondo (St Charles), 2. W Watson (M College), 3. N Mjoli (Carter), 4. N Smith (Ctr), 5. A Mdladla (St C), 6. K Madonda (Voortrekker), 7. A Gilart (Ctr), 8. S Sithole (Alexandra), 9. B Webster (Alex), 10 M Mkombe (St C), 11. S Mhlongo (Ctr), 12. J Dladla (Ctr), 13. N Mjara (MC), 14. J van der Merwe (MC).

Coach: N Haswell (Voortrekker)

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.