2008-02-20 00:00

The Laureus World Sports Awards are the only global awards honouring the greatest sportsmen and women across all sports each year. Much in the style of the film Oscars, the winners are chosen by an academy, in this instance a 43-member assemblage of illustrious sportspeople. It was announced on Monday that the Springboks were to receive this year’s Laureus World Team of the Year Award, for winning the 2007 Rugby World Cup and for going through the tournament unbeaten. What a sparkling achievement, especially when one considers that the team came out ahead of such outstanding nominees as AC Milan, the Australian cricket team and Ferrari.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.