Standard makes clean sweep of club cricket trophies

2013-03-15 00:00

STANDARD Cricket Club’s first XI has completed a magnificent season in making a clean sweep of all the titles on offer to them in the 2012/13 KZN season.

One of these titles was the KFC Inter City T20 competition, in which Standard beat Midlands by 74 runs at the Maritzburg Oval.

KZN Inland captain Kyle Nipper hit a hurricane 74 off 48 deliveries that included 11 boundaries and four sixes. Ryan Stanbury got 30, while Nipper’s KZN Inland team-mate S.J. Erwee put the cherry on the top of Standard’s formidable 208 for three in their 20 overs when he weighed in with an unbeaten 67 off just 35 balls, smashing eight fours and three sixes.

In reply, Midlands made 134, with KZN Inland batsman Mathew Hulett scoring 48 off 56 balls with six fours and a six.

Tomorrow sees the last KZN Inland Premier 50 League fixture when Varsity host Lancashire, but this match has no bearing on Standard taking the title in the most highly regarded competition in the province.

In Durban, the KZN Coastal T20 competition is well under way, while Crusaders won the Premier League title quite comfortably, despite DHS Rhythm breathing down their necks for much of the season.


KZN Inland Premier 50 League

Young Natalians vs Standard (washout); Lancashire vs Zingari (washout).

Varsity 223/9 in 50 overs (Warren Humphries 67, Brendon Govender 58, Mathew Hulett 4-0-9-4). Midlands 225/3 in 44,5 overs (James Bryant 90, Mathew Hulett 66*). Midlands won by seven wickets.

Standard vs Zingari (Washout).

Young Natalians 63 in 24 overs (Garth Ratsay 6-1-12-3, George Bronkhorst 7-2-13-2, Magnus van Rooyen 5-0-23-2). Midlands 64/2 in 19,2 overs (Leon Wiffen 42*). Midlands won by eight wickets.

Zingari 195/8 in 45 overs (Lyndon Brown 51, Jarred van Heerden 32, Daryn Dupavillon 30, Ant Foster 9-2-43-4, Paul Howells 6-1-13-2). Midlands 156 all out in 39.4 overs (James Bryant 87*, Daryn Dupavillon 9-2-16-4, Wade Lazar 5.4-1-23-2). Zingari won by 39 runs.

Standard vs Lancashire: Standard won by default.

Young Natalians 152/9 in 46 overs (Sinethemba Mjekula 55, Rowade Rajah 35, Khivaar Mohanlall 10-0-27-3, Gareth Jeary 9-0-22-2). Varsity 153/6 in 40,4 overs (Warren Humphries 43*, Abram Ndhlovu 31, Sinethemba Mjekula 10-0-23-2, Sohail Gani 9-0-34-2). Varsity won by four wickets.

KFC Intercity T20

Semi-finals: Midlands 151/7 in 20 overs (Rob Hampson 43, Jason Vaughn-Davies 28, James Bryant 24, Justin Sibran 2-0-10-2, Kyle Heyns 4-0-26-2). Young Natalians 126/9 in 20 overs (Ruhan Pretorius 39, George Bronkhorst 4-0-16-3, Paul Howells 4-0-13-2, Rob Hampson 4-0-28-2). Midlands won by 25 runs.

Berea Rovers 129/8 in 20 overs (R Vaughan 31, Bradley Moses 4-0-15-5). Standard 133/5 in 19,2 overs (Kyle Nipper 61, Chad Barron 26*, B Langley 4-0-32-2). Standard won by five wickets.

Final: Standard 208/3 in 20 overs (Kyle Nipper 74, Sarel Erwee 67*, Ryan Stanbury 40). Midlands 134/9 in 18,2 overs (Mathew Hulett 58, Ant Foster 27, Darryn Mortimer 4-0-19-2, Art Lindeque 1-0-1-2, Bradley Moses 3.2-0-28-2). Standard won by 74 runs.

KZN inland logs

Premier 50 League (played 10 unless stated): 1. Standard 20 points; 2. Zingari 28 pts; 3. Midlands 24 pts; 4. Varsity (9) 19 pts; 5. Young Natalians 12 pts; 6. Lancashire (9) 10 pts. Winners: Standard.

KFC T20 (final log, all played 8): 1. Standard 40 pts; 2. Varsity 27 pts; 3. Lancs 11 pts; 4. Zingari 9 pts; 5. Natalians 6 pts. Winners: Standard.

KFC Premier Inter City T20 – Group A: 1. Midlands 9 pts; 2. Berea Rovers 8 pts; 3. Zingari 6 pts; 4. Lancs 2 pts. Group B: 1. Standard 9 pts; 2. Natalians 8 pts; 3. Varsity 4 pts; 4. Chatsworth Sporting 4 pts. Winners: Standard.

KFC Natal Cup: Winners – Standard.

KZN coastal log

Premier 50 League (all played 18): 1. Crusaders 67 pts; 2. DHS Rhythm 57 pts; 3. Chatsworth Sporting 54 pts; 4. Berea Rovers 43 pts; 5. Topham 42 pts; 6. Uthungulu 40 pts; 7. Delta 35 pts; 8. Chatsworth United 34 pts; 9. Pinetown 31 pts; 10. African Warriors 11 pts.

KZN Coastal T20

A Division: Crusaders 137/8 (Robert Clift 33). DHS Rhythm 156/5 (Grant Hodnett 64*). DHS Rhythm won by 19 runs.

Delta 108 (Grant Olivier 4-0-21-3, Kyle Gilham 4-0-18-4). Pinetown 108/7 (Grant Olivier 31, Javier Frost 4-0-25-4). Pinetown won on super over.

Chatsworth United 136/6 (Robert Clift 2-0-20-4). Crusaders 140/2 (Riaan Minnie 68*, Vaughn van Jaarsveld 35*). Saders won by eight wickets.

DHS Rhythm 154/4 (Matthew Redinger 55, Grant Hodnett 39*). Pinetown 144/9 (Andrew Dyer 37, Dylan Buckthorpe 30*, Ainsley Ndlovu 4-0-20-3). DHS Rhythm won by 10 runs.

B Division: Chatsworth Sporting 164/3 (Chad Bowes 53, Jonathan Vandiar 76). Berea Rovers 127/8 (Lance Padayachee 4-0-22-3). Sporting won by 37 runs.

Topham 131/6 (Calvin Savage 30). African Warriors 86/8. Topham won by 45 runs.

Uthungulu 122/7. Chatsworth Sporting 114/4 (Chad Bowes 48*, Cody Chetty 34). Sporting won on better run rate.

Berea Rovers 148/6 (Ricardo Gouvera 53). African Warriors 80/9 (Ryan Vaughan 4-0-8-5). Rovers won by 68 runs.

KZN Coastal Women T20: Chatsworth Sporting vs Hillary Malvern (Washout).

Phoenix 18 all out (Catherine Pillay 4-2-4-4). Berea Rovers 20/0. Rovers won by 10 wickets.

African Warriors vs Maritzburg (Washout).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.