Stats favour home side slightly in PE game today

2011-12-15 00:00

AHEAD of today’s important SuperSport Series match between the Dolphins and the Warriors at Saint George’s Park in Port Elizabeth, statistics show that playing at the venue has no distinct advantage for the home side.

The sides have met four times at the venue since the 2004/05 season, with each team winning two matches.

The form guide in provincial cricket looks similar. In SuperSport Series matches between the 1996/97 season and the move to the franchise system in the 2004/05 season, teams played three matches at the venue with KwaZulu-Natal winning one match, Eastern Province winning one and one match ending in a draw.

The Dolphins have drawn two matches in the tournament on the road this year, against the Lions and the Cobras. The Warriors lost their only home match of the tournament thus far to the Cobras.

This points to the possibility of four days of intense cricket between two evenly matched sides.

The advantage in the make-up of the teams going into the match may be slightly weighted towards the Warriors.

While the Dolphins have two players drafted into the Proteas Test squad to face Sri Lanka — Hashim Amla and Imran Tahir — the Warriors have lost only Ashwell Prince to national duty.

But the Warriors are able to call upon the services of Wayne Parnell and current Protea ODI players Colin Ingram and Rusty Theron. For today’s match the Dolphins have only Friedel de Wet and David Miller, who has played ODI cricket for the Proteas. Imraan Khan, who has played in one Test for the Proteas against Australia, has not been included in the squad.

For different reasons, both teams will be eager to end the year off with a win.

The Dolphins, fifth on the log, travel to Bloemfontein to take on the table-topping Knights from December 27.

There is still a lot of cricket to be played in the tournament that only reaches halfway at the end of December. In 2012 the Dolphins have four matches, three of which are at home. •

Dolphins squad: Daryn Smit (Capt), David Miller, Robbie Frylinck, Kyle Abbott, Friedel de Wet, Khaya Zondo, Divan van Wyk, Devon Conway, Cody Chetty, Dane Paterson, Tabraiz Shamsi, Nash Govender.


Warriors squad: Jon Jon Smuts, Colin Ingram (Capt), Bevan Bennett, Kelly Smuts, Arno Jacobs, Simon Harmer, Wayne Parnell, Andrew Birch, Rusty Theron, Basheer Walters, Athi Dyili, Lyall Meyer, Warren Bell.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.