The school to beat

2009-08-18 00:00

THE SA Top Schools squash tournament was played in Pietermaritzburg last weekend with a very high standard of performance.

Epworth beat Framseby of the Eastern Province 3-2 in the final to retain their girls’ title for the 17th time — a record that will be hard to beat.

Epworth played very well to reach the finals, beating DSG Pretoria (N Gauteng) 5-0 in the semi-finals. Their final opponents, Framesby (EP), had a close 3-2 win over Eunice (Free State) with the result depending on the final match.

The finals was an exciting fixture as Framesby had the Landman twins, fresh from the World Juniors in India, and both playing very well. Elani Landman played very well to beat Tarryn Harborth (Epworth) and Lume Landman, her sister, lost the first game against Tayla Cordial but rallied to win 3-1.

Epworth have a very well-balanced team and Julie Lee, Nikki Melis and Cayleigh Conradie all had 3-0 wins to win the SA Top Schools title.

The boys’ event, won by Selborne (Border), was very closely contested as all the teams were well balanced and there were no clear favourites.

Glenwood (KZN) played very good squash to reach the finals for the first time. They had close games against Pretoria BHS (NG) and beat Grey College (FS) 4-1 in the semi-finals to meet Selborne in the finals. Selborne also had to work hard to beat Grey College (Free State) and Rondebosch (WP) in their pool matches. The semi-final against Pretoria BHS (who have won the title seven times) also produced some close matches.

Glenwood got off to a good start in the finals round with Ryan Oosthuizen winning the first match, but the strong Selborne team played very good squash to win all the remaining matches and win the title for the second time. Michael Wood (Selborne) and Elani Landman were the top players at the tournament winning all their matches in the No 1 position.


Girls: 1. Epworth (KZN), 2. Framesby (EP), 3. Queenstown (Border), 4. DSG Pretoria (N Gauteng), 5. Eunice (Free State), 6. St Marys JHB (Gauteng), 7. Herschel (WP), 8. St Dunstans (Easterns)

Boys: 1 Selborne (Border), 2. Glenwood (KZN), 3. Rondebosch (WP), 4. Pretoria BHS (N Gauteng) 5. Rondebosch BHS (WP), 6. King Edward School (Gauteng), 7. Paarl BHS (Boland), 8. CBC Boksburg (Easterns).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.