Things are about to heat up as new faces enter debates

2014-05-12 00:00

CAPE TOWN — South Africans can look forward to the parliamentary television channel becoming a lot more riveting when the new crop of political hotheads who are heading to the National Assembly enter the debates.

Among the new brooms in Parliament is the contentious Julius Malema, leader of the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF), whose party will get 25 seats in the National Assembly.

Malema’s own seat depends on whether he will be declared insolvent.

The EFF’s ranks include the outspoken Floyd Shivambu and Magdalene Moonsamy.

The DA remains the official opposition, but has been supersized with its seats growing from 67 to 89 after the party’s share of the national vote increased to 22,23%.

New members for the DA include Mmusi Maimane, the party’s premier candidate in Gauteng, advocate Glynis Breytenbach, who resigned from the National Prosecution Authority and Zelda Jongbloed, a former journalist, as well as former DA communication staffers Phumzile van Damme, Zak Mbhele and Solly Malatsi.

On the ruling party’s bench, which has shrunk by 15 seats, the new names include Bheki Cele , who was dismissed as national police commissioner by President Jacob Zuma; the party’s deputy president Cyril Ramaphosa ; Tito Mboweni, former Reserve Bank governor; and Jackson Mthembu, ANC spokesperson.

Other controversial new ANC names are Andile Lungisa, former chair of the wasteful National Youth Development Agency who was last year arrested for alleged fraud and money laundering; and former land affairs minister Thoko Didiza, a supporter of former president Thabo Mbeki.

Two former advisers to Zuma, and Lindiwe Zulu, (International Relations) and Zizi Kodwa, are also rewarded with a place in Parliament.

Cope’s MPs are reduced to Mosiuoa Lekota and Willie Madisha while former Cope MPs Leonard Ramatlakane, Juli Kilian and Nic Koornhof have crossed the floor to the ANC.

The proportional system will also ensure seats for newcomers like KZN’s National Freedom Party led by former IFP Youth Brigade leader Zanele Magwaza-Msibi, as well as the Eastern Cape’s African Independent Congress (AIC), the tiny party some analysts said got its votes because voters confused the similar logos of the AIC and the ANC on the ballot paper.

The NFP has the fifth highest number of seats in the National Assembly, garnering six seats, with the Inkatha Freedom Party down to 10 seats of the 18 it had after the 2009 elections.

Another newcomer is Dr Mamphela Ramphele, leader of AgangSA, which party got two seats.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.