Thobane chagwe leads KZN team to bronze in national cross-country champs

2010-09-14 00:00

KWAZULU-NATAL’S Thobane Chagwe out-ran Pieter Wilders to secure the SA Junior Cross-country Championship title in Tshwane.

Chagwe, an outstanding prospect over the past year, won his first national cross-country title over the three-lap, eight-kilometre distance in 25 minutes 57 seconds, with central Gauteng’s Wilders only four seconds adrift and Central North West’s Joel Mmone a further 50 metres off the pace.

Chagwe’s win set the foundation for the KZN team to take the bronze junior men’s medal behind the Central Gauteng and Central North West combinations.

Puseletso Dladla was 75 metres away from giving the province double champions when she finished behind Simone Idah (independent), who took 22min 52sec for the six-kilometre junior women’s category.

Dladla and her three KZN colleagues finished second in the team competition.

Stephen Mokoka (Gauteng North) and Lebo Phalula were crowned champions in the senior categories. Siyabonga Nkode was the highest-placed KZN athlete in seventh place and Thubelethu Phaku once again secured a top-20 position, providing the base for the province’s bronze team medals behind Central Gauteng and Central North West.

From the large KZN contingent, Mlindeni Nzimanda and Sbongithemba Ntshangase won the Boys 12 and Boys 13 races respectively, with Sonto Dlamini adding another gold medal in the Girls 15.

Among the older age groups, Andrew Spence and Moray Calder earned gold and bronze in the Mens 65, while the province’s mature women won gold through Ann Weeden (60), silver with Lize Muchna (40), and Gill Tregena (65) and two bronze from Debby de Koning (50) Jane Dickinson (55).

With Sandy Fismer and Shereen Kirsten taking fourth and fifth in the 55 age category, there was no question who was taking the overall gold team medal, and the province also took top spot in the women’s 50 grouping.

Up the north coast it was Simphiwe Zwane who took the honours in the hilly out-and-back Dolphin Coast Striders 50 km.

Zwane (KZN Striders) was relatively unchallenged, opening a seven-minute lead on his final helter-skelter descent to the finish, and he crossed the line in 3hrs 14min 20sec. Nedbank’s Thembelani Malunda was second in 3:21:10, with club colleague Sibusiso Ntuli third.

Nicola McMurray held off uMhlathuze’s Linda Badenhorst to secure her women’s 50 km victory in 4:40:10. Badenhorst was a little over 400 m adrift of the Ntunzini runner, with club colleague Linda Bevan filling the final podium spot over 40 minutes later.

Talented youngster Jari Mundarabzi continues to dominate the half-marathon, having recorded an impressive 1:10:45. Gerald Monotsi, a new name to the podiums, made a welcome return for the colours of Glenwood Harriers and was only 200 m adrift at the finish.

Pietermaritzburg-based Boxer athlete Sibonela Duma opened a 150 m lead on Mr Price’s Bongamusa Mthembu to win the historic Duke of York 16 km held from Boulder’s on Sunday morning.

The steep downhill run saw the talented Duma crash through the line in 51:47, with Comrades Gold medallist Mthembu proving that his legs are capable of both endurance and speed to finish in 52:16. Washington Zuma gave Mr Price third place.

Thobile Ngwane added a win in the women’s race in 1:05:11, over two minutes free of closest challenger Erica Walker of Natal Carbineers.

Zimbabweans Samuel Pazanga and Professor Mallen fought it out over the gruelling 15 km Mpati Mountain race on Saturday afternoon. The Mr Price duo were separated by only two seconds with Pazanga first in on 56:03.

Xoli Madida was the clear victor in the women’s race in 1:15:32, with Riana Uys from Volksrust second five minutes later.

Dolphin Coast Striders

50 km

Men: 1. Simphiwe Zwane KZN St 3:14:20; 2. Thembelani Malunda Ned A C 3:21:10; 3. Sibusiso Ntuli Ned A C 3:26:05

Women: 1. Nicola McMurray Ntunzini A C 4:40:10; 2. Linda Badenhorst uMhlatuze A C 4:42:42; 3. Linda Bevan uMhlatuze A C 5:28:05


21,1 km

Men: 1. Jari Mundarabzi Form One AC 1:10:45; 2. Gerald Monotsi Glen Harr 1:11:06; 3. Dumasani Manizi Boxer A C 1:14:26

Women: 1. Maya Laurie Boxer A C 1:25:05; 2. Belinda Wright Ind/Temp 1:36:05; 3. Sandy Aitken Ath North AC 1:38:04


Duke of York 16 km:

Men: 1. Sibonelo Duma Boxer AC 51:47; 2. Bongumusa Mthembu Mr Price A C 52:16; 3. Washington Zuma Mr Price A C 53:06

Women: 1. Thobile Ngwane Mr Price A C 1:05:11; 2. Erica Walker Ntl Carbs 1:07:39; 3. Lauren Calenbourne West A C 1:09:01

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.