Three provincial teams picked after tournament

2010-05-19 00:00

THE KwaZulu-Natal Primary Schools’ Tennis Tournament at Kershaw Park saw 12 teams from all over the province compete over three days. At the culmination of the event, three provincial teams, each made up of six boys and six girls, were picked.

These three teams will compete in the National Primary Schools’ Week at Kershaw Park in Pietermaritzburg from June 12 to June 15. A South African Primary Schools’ team will be named on the final day.

At the KZN provincial tournament just ended, the two KZN midlands sides that were entered finished first and second in the team event, a fine achievement for all those involved in PMB junior tennis.

In the KZN Primary Schools’ A team, five of the 12 players selected are from PMB, with four of them members of the Kershaw Park-based Braaiketts Tennis Club, while there are a whole host of players from the KZN capital in the other teams as well.



A Section:1 Midlands Blue; 2 Midlands Green; 3 Dbn Central A; 4 North Dbn; 5 Pinetown and District A; 6 Dolphin Coast.

B Section: 1 Pinetown and District B; 2 Northern KZN; 3 Dbn South; 4 Dbn Central B; 5 Northern Coastal and South Coast.


A team – Girls: 1 Phillipa Liasides; 2 Kirsten Higgs; 3 Tessa van der Merwe; 4 Cheney Firman; 5 Zandi Powell; 6 Amy Sarjoo. Boys: 1 William Thatcher; 2 James Redfern; 3 Damian Kesaris; 4 Marc Conlon; 5 Thembo Makhanya; 6 Ahmed Deedat.

B team – Girls: 1 Hannah Power; 2 Sarah Mayne; 3 Kato Kennis; 4 Kendal Gorlei; 5 Kirsten Moody; 6 Nonhlanhla Msomi. Boys: 1 James Strachan; 2 Julian Yeats; 3 Michael Darroch; 4 Mathew Bentley; 5 Mahir Singh; 6 Mphumelo Makhanya.

C team – Girls: 1 Nikki Schwulst; 2 Sarah Grenfell; 3 Danica Brewer; 4 Courtney Perrett; 5 Nicole Koenig; 6 Wendy Maphumelo. Boys: 1 Nicolai Manchev; 2 Ryan Slotow; 3 Patrick McGrath; 4 CJ Klopper; 5 Lethu Msondo; 6 Erin Manuel.

Reserves – Girls: 1 Megan Bates; 2 Jordie Heathcote; 3 Kelsey Scott; 4 Sarah Stoner. Boys: 1 James van der Meulen; 2 David Karam; 3 Jacques Hoogenboezem; 4 Michael Robinson; 5 Nicholas Itopolous.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.