Time for under-performers to come to the party as Inland travel to Gauteng

2011-02-17 00:00

COACH Doug Watson’s KZN Inland team meet Easterns in Benoni from today until Sunday in what will be a testing four days of cricket.

Watson’s side did well to come back to draw the three-dayer against KZN Coastal after being forced to follow-on, but the one-day clash went the Durban side’s way in emphatic manner.

A positive is that Glen Addicott, captain Kyle Nipper and a number of others were successful in their own right and now it’s up to the under-performers to come to the party.

This is Inland’s fourth-last round and a big effort is needed to get their season back on track. Inland lie 10th on the 14-team three-day log and Easterns are eighth, although they have one game in hand on the Gautengers. In the 40-over Sunday competition, Inland are in 13th spot, while Easterns lie in ninth place.

Easterns captain Sean O’Connor has a competitive line-up at his disposal that has fared better than Inland this season.

Of the Benoni-based lads worth noting is fast bowler Hardus Viljoen (21), the Witbank Whirlwind who already has 98 wickets in first-class cricket, including five fifers and two 10-wicket match hauls.

Not surprisingly, he has been selected for the 2011 SA Academy high performance programme.

Shaun Liebisch, the former E.G. Jansen (Boksburg) schoolboy, has represented the SA Composite XI and SA Universities sides. The all-rounder top-scored in both innings (including a ton) when Easterns drew with Coastal at Chatsworth two weeks ago.

Batsmen Mpho Sekhoto (28), who has represented the Lions and Titans, as well as the Cape Town-born Titans cap Rushdi Jappie (25) clearly have the talent to trouble the Inland bowling attack.

Easterns have two debutants in Kyle Marshall and Jean Rossouw, while Inland have Darryn Mortimer making his first appearance.


Inland: Brad Moses, Chad Barron, Tim Drummond, Nic Hendrie, Glen Addicott, Tyler Lortan, Kyle Nipper (capt), Sanvir Maharaj, Athi Maposa, Brady Barends, Kimeshan Chetty, Darryn Mortimer, Narvaar Harridave.

Easterns: Ruan du Plessis, Israel Hlengani, Ephraim Nyawo, Rushdi Jappie, Shaun Liebisch, Mpho Sekhoto, Sean O’Connor (capt), Hardus Viljoen, Dillon Stanley, Kyle Marshall, Jean Rossouw, Petrus Mofokeng, Lesiba Ngoepe.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.