Tough week for Inland men, women at inter-provincials

2011-05-10 00:00

IT was a tough week of hockey for the KZN Inland U21 men’s and women’s teams at their respective inter-provincial tournaments in Durban and Cape Town.

In the play-offs on Saturday the Inland men ended 10th in the 11-team event at Queensmead, going down 4-3 to Wit­watersrand after a penalty stroke shoot-out decided the deadlock.

The women ended with the wooden spoon in the 12-team competition at Hartleyvale, losing their 11th/12th place play-off 2-0 to Witwatersrand.

Southern Gauteng won the men’s final 3-0 against Free State. The men’s bronze medal match saw WP beat South Africa U19 4-2. One of the SA goals came from Maritzburg College’s Grant Glutz off a penalty corner drag-flick.

Five former Inland schoolboys were selected for the tournament team: the tournament’s top goal-scorer Matthew Guise-Brown, Marc Fourie and Brad Logan (all ex-Maritzburg College), plus Michaelhouse products Clinton Panther and David Zwemke. Former Coastal schoolboys Greg Last (Kearsney), Grant Robertson (DHS) and Mondli Dlamini (Northwood) were also selected.


Men: (11) North West, (9/10) Kaspersky Witwatersrand 4 KZN Inland 3; (7/8) KZN Coastals 4 Western Province Peninsula 1; (5/6) Northern Blues 2 Eastern Province 0; (3/4) Western Province 4 South Africa Under-19 2; (1/2) Kaspersky Southern Gauteng 3 Free State 0.

Women: (11/12) Kaspersky Witwatersrand 2 KZN Inland 0; (9/10) Eastern Province 5 Western Province Disas 1; (7/8) Namibia 2 Western Province Peninsula 0; (5/6) Free State 1 Western Province 0; (3/4) Northern Blues 2 KZN Coastal 0; (1/2) Kaspersky Southern Gauteng 2 North West 0.


Mondli Dlamini, Greg Last, David Zwemke (all KZN Coastal); Ian Finlay, Jaco Fourie, Luke Sanan (all Free State); Marc Fourie, Michael Watson (both SA U19); Marc le Sueur, Aiden Lotz, Clinton Panther, Michael Smith, Dean Symons (all Kaspersky Southern Gauteng); Matthew Guise-Brown (Northern Blues); Brad Logan, Grant Robertson, Chris Louw (all WP); Jason Syce (EP).

Selectors: Kurt Cerfontyne, Brendon Carolan, Darryn Gallagher.


Top goalscorer: Matthew Guise-Brown (Northern Blues).

Player of the Tournament: Jaco Fourie (Free State).

Goalkeeper of the Tournament: Michael Smith (Kaspersky Southern Gauteng).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.