UKZN honours its top sportspeople

2010-10-08 00:00

THE University of KwaZulu-Natal Pietermaritzburg campus sportswoman and sportsman of the year were named last night at the 48th annual Varsity Sports Banquet, which took place at the Victoria Country Club.

Guest speaker for the evening, which was once again sponsored by Johnson & Johnson, was Comrades Marathon CEO Gary Boshoff.

He handed the NUX Trophy for Sportsman of the Year to squash player Alan McGuigan. The Professor N.D. Clarence Trophy for Sportswoman of the Year went to hockey player Kara-Lee Stella.

The other men’s nominees were canoeist Andrew Birkett and cricketer Bradley Moses; the other woman nominee was mountain climber Faye Brouard.

McGuigan represented South Africa at the World University Championships in Australia and will also be turning out for his country in the U23 Jesters World Squash Tour.

He represented the KZN Midlands A team and led the UKZN squash team to a record of 16 wins and two losses.

Stella was the mainstay of the PMB Varsity ladies’ first hockey team as well as the KZN Inland provincial side.

She impressed with her performances at the SA Women’s U21 and Senior Interprovincial tournaments to the extent that she was included as one of 10 new young players to be selected for the South Africa senior women’s training programme.


Half Blues: Glen Addicott, Cheslin Nhlapo (both cricket), Robin Jones, Travis Hardnick, Megan Marr, Taryn Miskey, Nadia Stella, Dionne van Heerden, Megan Woodburn (all hockey), Courtney Bone, Stacey Bone, Mick Gouweloos (all squash).

Full Blues: Bradley Moses (cricket), Njabulo Ndawonde, Nomcebo Ubisi (both dance sport), Rachelle de Charmoy, Faye Brouard (both mountain climbing), Alan McGuigan (squash).


Campus League: Soccer.

Mark Andrews Trophy for Most Improved Sports Person: Nomcebo Ubisi (dance sport).

Professor P. de V. Booysen Trophy for Performance of the Year: Andrew Birkett (for winning the 2010 Dusi Canoe Marathon).

Professor J.D. Scott Trophy for Best All-Rounder: Donald Baines (cricket, rugby).

Ken Bircher Trophy for Club Administrator of the Year: Nirasha Ramudith (cricket).

Dave Turner Trophy for Leadership: Bradley Taylor (rowing).

Trish Mohr Trophy for Team of the Year: Hockey men’s first team.

Dave Edmondson Trophy for Most Improved Club of the Year: Squash.

Roger D. Crawford Trophy for the Club of the Year: Hockey.

Professor N.D. Clarence Trophy for Sportswoman of the Year: Kara-Lee Stella (hockey).

NUX Trophy for Sportsman of the Year: Alan McGuigan (squash).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.