Woodlands’ Lancashire bounce back with emphatic win over Zingari

2009-11-18 00:00

LANCASHIRE, the Woodlands club who play out of the Michael Patricks Oval, a festive cricket ground named after their chairman, bounced back from an 80-run KZN Inland Premier60 defeat to Zingari last time out with an equally emphatic 78-run triumph over Zingari doyen Harry Brown’s club in the Premier 45 this past Sunday.

Former Orientals and Inland player Kivershan Padayachee, now turning out for Lancs since last season’s demise of his former club at Premier League level, had a splendid match with bowling figures of four for 26 to go with a top score of 43.

Indications are that the new Lancs player/coach, Inland’s most capped cricketer Sashen Dorasamy, who is another former Orientals man, has the boys working hard at practice and the increased effort is beginning to bear fruit.

Dorasamy hit 41 and the other run-getter was long-standing Lancs cricketer Shaun van der Byl (30). Zingari’s Gavin Chandler (39) and Jacques Pienaar (3-32) held up the Lancs victory charge for a while, but ultimately there was no stopping Dorasamy’s lads on the day.

Varsity’s massive 202-run Premier 60 victory over Young Natalians last week was turned around somewhat in the Premier 45, the campus club winning this time by 70 runs, although the shorter format of 45 as opposed to 60-over cricket does give less batting time.

Varsity, under new coach Paul Atkins, are making a concerted effort to regain the Inland Premier 60 title from Standard and lead the reigning champs by a healthy 12 log points while also having a game in hand.

It’s going to take an extra special effort from the champions to retain their crown. and ensure they are in the playoff with the South Western Districts league winners.

Chasing Varsity’s 180, Natalians met the in-form Inland U19 opening bowler Dustin Chaplin in devastating mood as he chalked up six for 17 with Zimbabwean Tafadzwa Chihota weighing in with three for 31. Khaleem Shah’s 43 provided the bulk of the resistance.

Varsity’s total was crafted around the consistent run-scoring of Tim Mann (47) and Ian Baines (39), while former Inland paceman Qasim Khurshid (4-18) would have loved more penetrative support from the other end.


Inland Premier 45: Lancashire 227/9 (Kivershan Padayachee 43, Sashen Dorasamy 41, Shaun van der Byl 30; Jacques Pienaar 3-32). Zingari 149 (Gavin Chandler 39, Padayachee 4-26). Lancs won by 78 runs.

Varsity 180 (Tim Mann 47, Ian Baines 39; Qasim Khurshid 4-18). Young Natalians 110 (Khaleem Shah 43; Dustin Chaplin 6-17, Tafadzwa Chihota 3-31). Varsity won by 70 runs.

Coastal Premier 60: African Warriors 60 (M. Saliwa 7-26). Chatsworth Sporting 61/0. Sporting won by 10 wkts.

Pinetown 222/7 (J. Houston 50, G. Chislet 47*). Berea Rovers 228/3 (W. Madsen 113*, D. Hatch 60, K. Buckthorpe 3-89). Rovers won by 7 wkts.

Chatsworth United 193/8 (F. Crowie 34, M. Pillay 36, K. Maharaj 4-56). Delta 135 (T. Pillay 3-24). United won by 58 runs.

DHS Rhythm 218/7 (P. Hancock 59, C. Flowers 46, A. Razak 44, M. Johnson 3-83). Crusaders 219/3 (W. Hauptfleisch 132*). Saders won by 7 wickets.

Topham 267/5 (M. Hulett 62, K. Nagan 101*, S. Naidoo 30*). Tertiary 186 (C. Hauptfleisch 43, D. James 33, C. Chadwick 49, M. Patel 5-39, S. Rampersad 3-62). Topham won by 81 runs.


Inland Premier 60 (matches played in brackets): 1. Varsity (4) 32 points; 2. Midlands (5) 31 pts; 3. Zingari (5) 26 pts; 4. Lancashire (5) 25 pts; 5. Standard (5) 20 pts; 6. Young Natalians (5) 12 pts; 7. K&L (5) 10 pts; 8. Northern Districts (4) 10 pts.

Coastal Premier 60 (all played 7): 1. Crusaders 96.87 points; 2. Rovers 84.51 pts; 3. DHS 70.97 pts; 4. Chats Sporting 69.58 pts; 5. Chats United 60.02 pts; 6. Topham 59.98 pts; 7. Delta 57.74 pts; 8. Tertiary 45.32 pts; 9. Pinetown 36.84 pts; 10. African Warriors 11.37 pts.

Inland Premier 45 fixtures Sunday: Zingari vs Standard (Collegians); Varsity vs Lancs (Varsity).


Coastal: Bradley Barnes (capt), Fabian Crowie, Greg Fotheringham, Cody Chetty, Khaya Zondo, Michael Alexander, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Nagan, Keshav Maharaj, Kyle Buckthorpe, Mario Saliwa, Vyash Gobind, Mthokozisi Shezi. Coach: Sakele Simon.

Coastal women: Denisha Devnarain (capt), Trisha Chetty, Nadine Moodley, Nikita Sole, Chloe Tyrone, Haleigh Wheeler, Nivasha Ramnath, Kayleigh Tapp, Prudence Gcabashe, Dheyanka Naidoo, Lungi Kwela, Triona Naidoo. Coach: Horatius Sokhanyile.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.