Zimbabwe, Kenya and Namibia part of CSA’s 16-team Africa T20 Cup

2015-04-22 00:00

CAPE TOWN — Cricket South Africa (CSA) yesterday launched the 16-team Africa T20 Cup which will be the curtain-raiser to the 2015-16 season.

Zimbabwe, Kenya and Namibia have accepted invitations to compete in the event with the other participants being the 12 CSA Affiliates as well as associate member, kzn inland.

The tournament will be a World ­Cup-style competition, consisting of four pools of four teams each with the winners of each pool advancing to the semi-finals and eventually to the final.

Easterns (Willowmoore Park), North West (Senwes Park), Griquas (Diamond Oval) and Free State (Mangaung Oval) will be the venues for the four pool matches and some of these venues will also host the semi-final and final depending on which teams advance and based on an assessment of the quality of venue hosting during the pool stages.

The tournament will run from September 4 to October 4.

All franchise players will play for the province at which they are contracted although a limit of four has been placed on the number to be fielded at the same time. This limit would not include the contracted Proteas players who are restricted to one in the starting XI.

In addition, all teams would be required to field at least two U21 players.

Transformation targets will be the same as that which applies for the CSA semi-professional competitions (six players of colour and three black Africans).

“This tournament is an exciting new concept for our cricket,” commented CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat.

“It should provide impetus at the start of a season with exciting and competitive playing opportunities plus revenue generating potential for each team.”

CSA has also announced the appointment of Makhaya Ntini as the Africa T20 Cup ambassador.

“I am both delighted and honoured to be invited to fulfil this role,” Ntini said. “The development of African cricket is something that is very close to my heart and I welcome this important initiative.”



Willowmoore Park (September 4-6)

Easterns, Northerns, Zimbabwe, Western Province


Senwes Park (September 11-13)

North West, KZN Inland, Border, Boland


Diamond Oval (September 18-20)

Griquas, Namibia, KZN, Eastern Province


Mangaung Oval (September 25-27)

Free State, SWD, Gauteng,Kenya

Semi-finals, October 3

Final, October 4.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.