Zimbabwean runner wins Beds For Africa 16 km race by more than 600 metres

2009-09-22 00:00

ZIMBABWEAN Tichareva Matende won the Beds For Africa 16 km race in 51 minutes 29 seconds, more than 600 metres clear of club colleague Joseph Mandizha.

The Bluff Meats Formula One athlete broke free after the first two kilometres to remain unchallenged for the remainder of the hilly tour of Durban North. Mandizha also won the 35-39 age group and Comrades gold medallist Mncedisi Mkhize was third in 53min 42sec.

Boxer’s Janene Carey led from gun to tape, climbing the eight kilometres to the top of Umhlanga in 32:30, but using the downhill to record negative splits to finish 1:03:55. Carey also secured the 35-39 category, while Hillcrest’s Julie Shadwell was a comfortable second and first 40 to 49 in 1:11:16.

After a conservative start, Sandie De Beer chased down Boxer’s Maria Mthembu to fill the final podium place in 1:13:23.

Dave Flood and Roger McCarrol once again took the race to the tape with Flood winning his fourth consecutive walk only once second ahead of the Run Walk For Life athlete. Flood, who crossed the line in 1:35:03, also won the 60-plus category, while McCarrol was the leading 50 to 59-year-old.

Kethiwe Memela won the women’s walk in 1:46:58 to be the leading 40 to 49-year-old category ahead of second-placed Philipa Chidziwa, also from the Boxer club. Chidziwa who crossed the line 1:47:06 was first in the 35 grouping.

Although described as a development race it was the established runners who capitalised on the relatively large prize money on offer at the Mtubatuba 10km.

Thubelethu Phaku stayed with the field for the first four kilometres before pulling away to take the tape and the R1 000 prize money in 30:41.

Although sharing the first six kilometres of the women’s race with Nongoma’s Ninhle Mtshali, Winile Mnisi was able to open over 100m in the second half of the race to take line honours in 39:57. Iris Ndlovu of the Boxer club finished a distant third in 43:39.

Beds For Africa 16 km

Men: 1 Tichareva Matende F1 51:29, 2 Joseph Mandizha F1 52:48, 3 Mncedisi Mkhize Mr P 53:42

Women: 1 Janene Carey Boxer 1:03:55, 2 Julie Shadwell HV 1:11:16, 3 Sandie De Beer SANDF 1:13:23

35-39: Janene Carey Boxer 1:03:55


Men: Dave Flood SAV 1:35:03, 2 Roger McCarrol RWFL 1:35:04 , 3 William Pellew Eskom 1:36:44

Women: 1 Kethiwe Memela Boxer 1:46:58 2 Philipa Chidziwa Boxer 1:47:06, 3 Margaret Botes Eskom 1:52:23

Mtubatuba 10 km

Men: 1 Thubaletu Phaku DUT 30:41, 2 Samuel Pazanga F1 31:30, 3 Dzingai Dandara F1 31:37

Women: 1 Winile Mnisi MrP 39:57, 2 Zinhle Mtshali Nongoma 40:22, 3 Iris Ndlovu Boxer 43:39

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.