First kykNET Fiestas: The winners

Cape Town - The first kykNET Fiestas was held on Thursday at the Artscape Theatre in Cape Town, recognising artists that stood out on stage and behind the scenes last year.
At the same time, recognition was given to Afrikaans festivals that give a platform to new productions.

Karen Meiring, kykNET's channel head and one of its presenters, has said that she believes "theatre and television can't function in isolation; it's important to give recognition to the unbelievable work that's being delivered in the Afrikaans theatre and entertainment industry."

She also believes that the "variety of talent and creativity speaks volumes about the position of Afrikaans and the rich future that lies ahead for this language."

The stage production, As Die Broek Pas, walked away with the most Fiestas, winning in four of the 18 categories. This production won for best production, theatre design, performance in a one-man show and best actress.

Antionette Kellerman's powerful performance was also presented at last year's Volksblad arts festival.

Three well-known veteran artists were honoured for their life's work – Verna Vels for literary art, Cobus Rossouw for theatre and Stefans Grové for music.

Rossouw, who started his acting career in Bloemfontein, was honoured last year at a Sukovs reunion for his contribution to theatre.

Three categories determined by public vote saw US Woordfees walk away as the most popular festival, the Hatfield Carnival as the  most popular music event and Bobby van Jaarsveld as the most popular guest presenter of the kykNET programme Fiesta in 2010.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Actress: Antoinette Kellermann for her performance in As Die Broek Pas

Best Actor: André Odendaal for Magspel

Best Upcoming Artist: Moenier Adams for his interpretation in Afrikaaps

Best Supporting Actress: Bettie Kemp in Dood van ’n Verkoopsman

Best Supporting Actor: Theodore Jantjies in Vaselinetjie

Best Performance in a Solo Show: Antoinette Kellermann for As Die Broek Pas

Best Direction: Nicola Hanekom for Betésda

Best Theatre Design: Marthinus Basson for As Die Broek Pas

Best Production: As Die Broek Pas.

Best New Afrikaans Production: Nicola Hanekom for Betésda

Best Performance in Classical Music: James Grace for Around the World in 60 Minutes.

Best Music Drive Production: Afrikaaps

Lifetime Achievement:

Afrikaans Theatre: Cobus Rossouw
Afrikaans Literary Art: Verna Vels
Afrikaans Music: Stefans Grové

The Fiesta awards ceremony will be broadcast on Saturday at 20:30 on kykNET.

Some of the artists that performed at the ceremony were Coenie de Villiers, Jannie Moolman, Amanda Strydom and Bobby van Jaarsveld.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24