The nominees for South African Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards 2014 are...

Johannesburg – Comedy is big business in South Africa and the faces that we’ve come to know so well on our television screens and Twitter timelines are set to be honoured later this year in a glitz event.

Here are all the categories and respective nominees:

The Savanna Newcomer Award:  

Alfred Adriaan
Loyiso Madinga
Yaaseen Barnes
Glen Biderman-Pam
Bradford Keen

The Breakthrough Act Award:
Donovan Goliath
Jason Goliath
Schalk Bezuidenhout
Deep Fried Man
Kagiso KG Mokgadi

The Comic’s Choice Comic of the Year Award:
Tumi Morake
Chester Missing
Loyiso Lungile Gola
Trevor Noah
Riaad Moosa

The Times Comic's Pen Award:
David Kibuuka
Chester Missing
Loyiso Lungile Gola
Kagiso Lediga
Christopher Steenkamp

Lifetime Achiever (this category doesn’t have nominees but rather one recipient):
Mark Banks

The Savanna Audience Choice Award:
This is the only category that’s open to public vote, so voting stays open until Monday, 28 July.  If you want to win a VIP experience to the awards bash, vote now by SMS ing your favorite comedian’s unique code to 38374.

Mashabela Galane - Unique code - 1197
Sifiso Nene - Unique code - 1187
Elton Mduduzi Ntuli - Unique code - 1283
Thapelo TIPS Seemise - Unique code – 1150
Thabang Ramasenya - Unique code - 1284

NB: You can vote 20 times

The actual Savanna CCA ceremony takes place at The Teatro at Montecasino on Saturday, 2 August 2014.  It’s a hilarious variety show, comprising sketches, stand-up, impressionists and witty one-liners delivered by SA’s top comedians.  

Limited tickets are available to public, so book now through Computicket

For all the latest on the awards and more follow Channel24 on Twitter and like Channel24 on Facebook.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24