Fleur du Cap Awards: The nominees

Cape Town - Antoinette Kellermann, who recently walked away with two Fiestas for her portrayal of a man and a woman in As Die Broek Pas, is among the nominees for this year's Fleur du Cap theatre awards.

The Fleur du Cap Awards have existed for more than four decades honouring excellence on stage in Cape Town and surrounding areas. This year, more than 70 productions were considered and the winners will be announced on March 20 in Cape Town.

Kellerman was nominated for best actress and best solo performance. Marthinus Basson was nominated for best director for As Die Broek Pas.

In addition to As Die Broek Pas, Lara Foot's production Woyzeck and Malcolm Purkey's The Girl in the Yellow Dress also received three nominations each. The actor James Cairns on his own received three nominations for his solo shows.

The nominees are:  

Best Actress:
Antionette Kellermann - As Die Broek Pas
Jennifer Steyn - Molly Bloom
Liezl de Kock - Womb Tide
Robyn Scott - London Road

Best Actor:
Chris van Niekerk - Dinsdae By Morrie
Nat Ramabulana - The Girl in the Yellow Dress
Thami Mbongo - Woyzeck
Warrick Grier - Blackbird

Best Director:
Marthinus Basson - As Die Broek Pas
Damon Galgut - Waiting for Godot
Lara Foot – Woyzeck
Malcolm Purkey - The Girl in the Yellow Dress

Best Supporting Actress:
Emily Child - Cosi
Liz Szymczak - Endgame
Louis Saint-Claire - Boeing, Boeing
Ntomboxolo Makhutshi - London Road

Best Supporting Actor:
Bongile Mantsai - Woyzeck
Graham Weir - Waiting for Godot
Guy de Lancey - Cosi
Owen L Sejake - The Train Driver

Best Solo Performance:
Andrew Buckland - 1 man, 3 shows , 100 characters
Antionette Kellermann - As die broek pas
James Cairns - Dirt and The Sitting Man

Best New South African Script:
Craig Higginson - The Girl in the Yellow Dress
Nicholas Spagnoletti - London Road and
James Cairns - The Sitting Man

Rosalie van der Gucht Prize for New Director:
Bo Petersen - Blackbird
Christiaan Olwagen - Woza Andries
Francesco Nassimbeni - Done London
Scott Sparrow - Cosi

Best Interpretation in a Musical:
Angela Kilian and James Borthwick - Evita
Gina Shmukler and Ilse Klink - Mamma Mia!

Best Revue or Cabaret Performance:
Godfrey Johnson - The Shadow of Brel
Michele Maxwell - Cést la vie
Moenier Adams - Afrikaaps
Pieter-Dirk Uys - FAK Songs and other Struggle Anthems

Best Design:
Leopold Senekal - Aesop’s Fables costumes, as well as set and costumes for Woyzeck
Marthinus Basson - costumes for Antony and Cleopatra
Craig Leo and Emile Starke - for props in Womb Tide
Faheem Bardien - lighting for Antony and Cleopatra

Die judges are Marianne Thamm, Mariana Malan, Marina Nel, Peter Tromp, Len Ashton, Beverly Brommert, Wayne Muller, Herman van der Westhuizen, Zane Henry, Jill Makram and Denise Bester.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24