1996 Bafana team to face Nigeria

By Drum Digital
10 March 2014

South African soccer fans look back with pride on the golden day in 1996 when President Nelson Mandela handed the African Cup of Nations (Afcon) to Bafana Bafana captain Neil Tovey.

South Africa had just beaten Tunisia 2-0 in the Afcon final at the FNB Stadium in Johannesburg.

However, the defending champions, Nigeria, who boycotted the tournament in South Africa, have long maintained that they would have emerged victorious if they had taken part.

Bafana Bafana argued the opposite and were supported by their display throughout the tournament.

The two teams have decided to settle the matter once and for all. They will meet in the Nigerian state of Kanu on March 30 to play the match everyone dreamed of.

Stars like Jay Jay Okocha, Kanu Nkwankwqo, Stephen Keshi, and Daniel Emunike will turn out for the Super Eagles, while South African legends Doctor Khumalo, John Moeti, Eric Tinkler and Linda Buthelezi are expected to don the green and gold once more. The South Africans have also decided to spice things up a bit with the addition of other former Bafana Bafana stars like Benni McCarthy, Quinton Fortune, Aaron Mokoena and McBeth Sibaya.

The full South African team will be announced on Thursday.

Find Love!