2012 Comic's Choice Awards nominees announced

By Drum Digital
11 June 2012

An almost all-star list of South African comics was nominated when the SA Comic's Choice Awards announced its nominees for the 2nd annual stand-up comedy awards.

The nominees were announced in a press lunch briefing held at SA's most celebrated comedy spot, the Parker's Comedy Club, at Montecasino today.

New to this year's awards is the The Times Comic's Pen Award which will celebrate comics who write and create comedic content off of the stand-up stage.

The Lifetime Achiever Award was handed to Parker's Comedy club founder Joe Parker who has spent decades on the comedic stage.

The winning comics will be announced at Teatro, Montecasino on 10 July. Tickets are on sale from R230 at Computicket.

The 2012 Comic's Choice Awards nominees are:

The Times Comic's Pen Award

Kagiso Lediga

Alyn Adams

Loyiso Gola

Vittorio Leonardi

The Audience Choice Award

Sifiso Nene

Trevor Noah

Eddie Eckstein

Deep Fried Man

Best Newcomer Award

Jason Goliath

Dillan Oliphant

Donovan Goliath

Monique Nortj'e

Blackberry Breakthrough Award

Deep Fried Man

Robby Collins

Tats Nkonzo

Mpho "Popps" Modikoane

Comic of the Year Award

Riaad Moosa (Last year's winner)

Trevor Noah

Nik Rabinowitz

Loyiso Gola

Lifetime Achiever Award

Joe Parker

Find Love!