All the 2014 Sama winners

By Drum Digital
29 April 2014

Mafikizolo sealed their comeback in triumphant style at the 20th Annual South African Music Award.

Mafikizolo sealed their comeback in triumphant style at the 20th Annual South African Music Awards – winning five awards at the main ceremony on Monday night to add to their three trophies at the industry awards earlier in the day. This brings the popular Afro-pop duo’s total haul to an incredible eight awards at SAMA 20. They scooped an armful of trophies for Album of the Year, Duo or Group of the Year, Best Pop Album, Best Collaboration, Best Selling Ring-back Tone, Best Selling Full-track Download and Best Selling Mobile Music Download of the Year.

And in the most hotly contested category of the night, the Kia Record of the Year, Mafikizolo featuring Uhuru beat out stiff competition to win the public SMS vote for their mammoth hit song Khona.

Nhlanhla Nciza was ecstatic about the eight awards win for the night, saying they are appreciative of all the support.

Speaking to DRUM at the after party she said; “I haven't fully wrapped my mind around the win, it all seems surreal to me. We are blessed to experience such great success after being gone for a while.”

Nhlanhla rushed to her hotel room after staying briefly at the party saying she missed her children and wanted to speak to them. “My phone has been off for almost the whole day, I just want to get to the room and speak to my children, I miss them so much,” said the star rushing off.

Earlier Nhlanhla had dedicated one of their wins to her children including her late daughter Zinathi and also late Mafikizolo member Tebogo Benedict Madingoane, whom both she and bandmate Theo agreed will always be the third member of the group in spirit.

The full list of winners for the Samas 2014:

Best Pop Album:

Mafikizolo – Reunited

Beste Pop Album:

Karlien van Jaarsveld – Uitklophou

Best Adult Contemporary Album:

Shaun Jacobs - Love Can

Best Rock Album:

Van Coke Kartel - Bloed. Sweet & Trane

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album:

Elvis Blue – Afrikaans

Best African Adult Album:

Zonke - Give And Take Live

Best Alternative Album:

Nakhane Tour - Brave Confusion

Best RnB, Soul and Reggae:

The Soil - Reflections Live In Joburg

Best Kwaito Album:

Big Nuz - Made In Africa

Best Rap Album:

iFani - I Believes In Me (1st Quadrant)

Best Traditional Faith Music:

Rebecca - Bayos'Khomba

Best Dance Album:

Mi Casa - Su Casa

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album:

Nqubeko Mbatha- Sentiments Of A Worshiper

Best Traditional Album:

Dr. Thomas Chauke Na Shinyori Sisters - Shimatsatsa No 32

Best Maskandi Album:

Thokozani Langa – Inyakanyaka

Best Jazz Album:

Shane Cooper – Oscillations

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album:

Guy Buttery - Live In KwaZulu

Best Live DVD:

Zonke - Give and Take Live

Best Collaboration:

Mafikizolo Ft May D – Happiness

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Ladysmith Black Mambazo and Phuzekemisi

International Achievement Award:

Ladysmith Black Mambazo

Music Video of the Year:

The Parlotones, Khuli Chana & Jon Savage – Sleepwalker

Best Selling DVD:

Joyous Celebration - Gartefeul vol.17

Best Selling Mobile Music Download:

Mafikizolo -  Khona

Best Ring Back Tone:

Mafikizolo - Khona

Best Selling Full Track Download:

Mafikizolo - Khona

Highest Airplay of the Year:

DJ Kent ft The Arrows - Spin My World Around

Best Selling Album of the Year:

Zahara - Phendula

Best Producer of the Year:

Darryl Torr - Yes/No/Grey

Best Engineer of the Year:

Peter Auret - Pimp My Piano

Remix of the Year:

Oskido - Tsa Ma Ndebele

Newcomer of the Year:

Naima Kay - Umsebenzi

Duo or Group of the Year:

Mafikizolo – Reunited

Female Artist of the Year:

Zahara – Phendula

Male Artist of the Year:

Kabomo - Memory Remains

Album of the Year:

Mafikizolo - Reunited

Record of the Year:

Mafikizolo - Reunited

Source :

Find Love!