Bafana squad to play with Swaziland

By Drum Digital
04 November 2013

Bafana Bafana coach Gordon Igesund has included nine Orlando Pirates players in his 24-man squad to play Swaziland in an international friendly.

Bafana Bafana coach Gordon Igesund has included nine Orlando Pirates players in his 24-man squad to play Swaziland in an international friendly match on 15 November at the National Stadium in the Swazi capital of Mbabane. “It is also good to have all the Orlando Pirates players available after missing out due to CAF commitments,” said Igesund. All the players selected for this encounter are local-based as this is part of the preparations for the upcoming CAF CHAN tournament that begins in January next year. “This is the first game that we will play in preparation for the CHAN tournament and its very important for us to get the rhythm going in the team, because these are some of the players that will play in that event. It is as very formidable team and we have a pool of about 38 players who are all fighting to make the final 23 players for the tournament, so is it is very excitingand the match against Swaziland will be a good test for us,” said Igesund.

The squad assembles on Monday, 11 November before departing for Swaziland the next morning (Tuesday, 12 November).

Bafana Bafana return to South Africa on Saturday, 16 November to prepare for a friendly match against World and European Champions Spain.

The match against Spain takes place at FNB Stadium on Tuesday, 19 November.

That match kicks off at 21h00.


NO.        PLAYER'S NAME                CLUB


1.            Senzo MEYIWA               Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

2.            Ronwen WILLIAMS         Supersport United FC (SA)


3.            Thabo NTHETE                  Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)

4.            Tshepo GUMEDE             Platinum Stars FC (SA)

5.            Tefo MASHAMAITE         Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

6.            Buhle MKHWANAZI        Tuks FC (SA)

7.            Rooi MAHAMUTSA         Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

8.            Tsepo MASILELA              Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

9.            Thabo MATLABA              Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

10.          Happy JELE                         Orlando Pirates FC (SA)


11.          Andile JALI                         Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

12.          Hlompho KEKANA           Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

13.          Oupa MANYISA                Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

14.          Reneilwe LETSHOLONYANE         Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

15.          Bongani ZUNGU               Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

16.          Sibusiso VILAKAZI            Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

17.          Lerato CHABANGU          Moroka Swallows FC (SA)

18.          Daine KLATE                     Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

19.          Thuso PHALA                    Supersport United FC (SA)

20.          Siphiwe TSHABALALA     Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)


21.          Lennox BACELA                              Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

22.          Kermit ERASMUS             Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

23.          Bernard PARKER               Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

24.          Edward MANQELE           Moroka Swallows FC (SA)

Find Love!