Billiat, 'Downs win big at PSL awards

By Drum Digital
31 May 2016

Mamelodi Sundowns midfield maestro Khama Billiat stole the show with three major gongs at the PSL awards ceremony at Emperors Palace on Monday.

Billiat walked away with the Premiership Players' Player award, Midfielder of the Season and Footballer of the Season awards.

The Zimbabwe international played an instrumental role in the Brazilians' stellar season, where they clinched the Premiership tile and Telkom Knockout Cup.

Sundowns players dominated the ceremony after their record-setting season, where they set a new benchmark of 71 points with 22 wins, five draws and three losses.

The 25-year-old was in sensational form for Sundowns - contributing 13 goals and 20 assist in the season.

The reliable Thabo Nthethe walked away with the Premiership Defender of the Season award and the Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament award.

Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane was recognized for his outstanding work with the Coach of the Season award after guiding the team to the historic season.

Sundowns stopper Denis Onyango grabbed the Goalkeeper of the Season award.

With his 14 goals, Mpumalanga Black Aces striker Collins Mbesuma did enough to clinch the Golden Boot.

Ajax Cape Town defender Cecil Lolo, who passed away in a car crash, posthumously won the MTN8 Last Man Standing award for his contribution when his club won the cup title.

Meanwhile, SuperSport United striker Jeremy Brockie bagged the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament award.

Complete winner's list:

MTN8 Last Man Standing: The late Cecil Lolo

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Thabo Nthethe

Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament: Ndivhuwo Ravhuhali

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Jeremy Brockie

National First Division Top Goalscorer: Thabiso Kutumela

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Player of the Tournament: Sibusiso Sibeko

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Denis Onyango

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season (U-21): Aubrey Modiba

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Pitso Mosimane

Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer: Collins Mbesuma

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Thabo Nthethe

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Khama Billiat

Absa Premiership Goal of the Season: Ben Motshwari vs Chippa

Absa Premiership Players' Player of the Season: Khama Billiat

Absa Premiership Footballer of the Season: Khama Billiat

Source: Sport24


Find Love!