DA to elect new leaders

By Drum Digital
09 May 2015

A total of 1 425 voting delegates are expected to elect a leader to replace Helen Zille at the DA’s federal congress which starts on Saturday morning.

Parliamentary leader Mmusi Maimane, outgoing federal chair Wilmot James and party members Adrian Naidoo and Morgan Oliphant are the candidates to replace Zille.

Eastern Cape DA leader Athol Trollip is competing against outgoing deputy chair Makashule Gana and MP Masizole Mnqasela for the post of federal chairperson.

The delegates attending include 193 MPs and MPLs, and 820 councillors.

"We are estimating to have about a total of 1 600 people," congress convenor Greg Krumbock said.

On Saturday morning, voting procedures will be explained to candidates and policy position papers introduced. Election results will be announced on Sunday morning.

Zille announced on April 12 that she would not seek re-election as party leader at the congress, after  eight years at the helm.

Find Love!