PICTURES: SA Sports Awards all the winners

By Drum Digital
01 December 2014

This year's SA Sports Awards was nothing short of glitz, glamour and razzmatazz.

The award ceremony was held at the Sandton Convention Centre on Sunday night.

Host Sport minister Fikile Mbalula was in a celebratory mood when he took to the stage, vowing that South African sporting champions will no longer go unrecognised for their hard work and achievements.

“Remember that walking on a red carpet is for royalty and presidents, it’s not something you pull out at a birthday party. We want this night to be a reminder to you of all your accomplishments,” he said.

Banyana Banyana striker, Portia Modise, walked away with the main award:  The SA Sports Star of the Year.

While Olympic swimming champion Chad Le Clos and road cyclist, Ashleigh Moolman Pasio, were crowned Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year.

Paralympic hand-cyclist Justine Asher won the sportswoman of the year with a disability award, and wheelchair racer Ernst van Dyk the sportsman of the year with a disability.

Receiving a lifetime achievement award was Springbok rugby legend, Joost van der Westhuizen.

Mbalula used the opportunity to acknowledge the passing of another Springbok player, Tinus Linee who died from with Motor Neuron Disease.

“Joost must be commended for his fighting spirit. When he was diagnosed doctors gave him a few years to live.  He told me he was going to fight this illness, and here he is – still standing,” he said.

Other Winners:

Coach of the Year –Shakes Mashaba

New Comer of the Year- Gezelle Magermann

Team of the year-Under 19 cricket

School team of the year-Vorentoe High

Developing School team of the year – Oudshoorn School of Skills

Volunteer of the year- Sandile Mqadi

Administrator of the Year- Nokuzola Patience

Recreation Body of the Year – Sport and Social Change Network

Potographer of the Year – Reg Caldecott

Pictures courtesy of Siyasanga Mbambani/DoC.

Find Love!