The Avengers are back!

By Drum Digital
22 April 2015

Filmed partly on the streets of downtown Johannesburg, the much-anticipated sequel to The Avengers will be released on Friday 1 May.

Marvel’s The Avengers: Age of Ultron is a follow-up to Joss Whedon’s 2012 megahit, The Avengers.

The Avengers,  (1)

The film was written and directed by Joss and features an ensemble cast, including Robert Downey Jr, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Evans,  Idris Elba  and Samuel L. Jackson, to name but a few.

In The Age of Ultron, the Avengers must work together to defeat Ultron (played by James Spader), a technological enemy bent on human extinction.

The Avengers,  (2)

In the film Robert returns as Tony Stark/Iron Man, now obsessed with keeping the world safe from the kind of threats the Avengers might not be able to stop. With the help of Dr Bruce Banner/The Hulk (played by Mark) he creates Ultron, a highly sophisticated artificial intelligence. However, when Ultron concludes that humanity must evolve or be destroyed, the heroes must team up to stop Stark’s creation from creating Armageddon.

According to Alonso Duralde of, this sequel has its share of thrills and laughs, but you can feel the requirements of franchise empire-building weighing it down.

Two sequels, Avengers: Infinity War Part 1 and Avengers: Infinity War Part 2, are scheduled to be released on 4 May 2018 and 3 May 2019, respectively.

Find Love!