Two Mpumalanga under administration

By Drum Digital
18 April 2013

Two Mpumalanga municipalities have been placed under provincial administration following the collapse of service delivery, premier David Mabuza's office said on Thursday.

Bushbuckridge and Emalahleni (Witbank) were placed under administration for six months following a provincial Cabinet meeting on Wednesday, Mabuza's spokesman Zibonele Mncwango said.

"This decision comes after a long period of providing various provincial support through the department of co-operative governance and traditional affairs and coaching by the executive council," he said.

The intervention is in terms of Section 139 (1)(b) of the Constitution.

Mncwango said the department of co-operative governance would take the process further. It would consult with the National Council of Provinces, the portfolio committee and the SA Local Government Association.

-by Sapa

Find Love!