Union welcomes SABC resignations

By Drum Digital
20 March 2013

The Creative Workers' Union of SA has welcomed the resignation of several SABC board members.

"[They] have done an honourable thing to step down with dignity, and allow a new search for an interim board that will serve in a manner that is in line with corporate governance," it said on Tuesday.

"We wish all of them the best in their relative roles as they go back into their different areas of expertise and spheres of national development and growth."

The SABC board was officially dissolved on Tuesday after a meeting of Parliament's communications portfolio committee.

Before the formal disbanding, one of the last two remaining board members, Suzanne Vos, gave the committee her views on the events leading up to the resignation of nine board members in the past week or so.

She accused Communications Minister Dina Pule of interfering in the board's operations.

Addressing the committee earlier, Pule denied she was guilty of political interference, an allegation also made by another board member Cedric Gina.

"If I had interfered, some of the things at the board would not have happened.... I wish I had interfered," Pule said.

The Office of the ANC Chief Whip said it welcomed the decision by the National Assembly to recommend the dissolution of the SABC board and the

appointment of members of the interim board.

"The interim board will take over the reins until the new board is appointed by Parliament," said spokesman Moloto Mothapo.

"We are confident that the interim board will continue with the good work

done by its predecessor to turn around the public broadcaster."

An interim, five-member SABC board was approved by the National Assembly on Tuesday.

Its members are Zandile Tshabalala, Noluthando Gosa -- who was among the board members who resigned -- Vusi Mavuso, Ronnie Lubisi and Iraj Abedian.

-by Sapa

Find Love!