Zuma need not explain himself

By Drum Digital
10 July 2013

President Jacob Zuma “does not need to provide reasons” for his cabinet reshuffle, so says his office. The presidency released a statement after the media complained that the president didn’t mention reasons as to why he chopped and changed the cabinet. The statement read, “The Presidency wishes to remind the opinion makers that the President of the Republic uses his prerogative when appointing members to the National Executive”. The reshuffle left Tokyo Sexwale, Richard Baloyi and Dina Pule out in the cold. The incoming members of the National Executive will be sworn in at 15h00 today, 10 July at the Union Buildings by Mr Justice Froneman, representing Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng, who is currently out of the country. The new Ministers and Deputy Ministers are as follows: 1. The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Mr Lechesa Tsenoli, 2. The Minister of Human Settlements, Ms Connie September, 3. The Minister of Communications, Mr Yunus Carrim, 4. The Minister of Energy, Mr Ben Martins, 5. The Minister of Transport, Ms Dipuo Peters, 6. The Deputy Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development, Mr John Jeffery, 7. The Deputy Minister of Science and Technology, Mr Michael Masutha,

8. The Deputy Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Mr Andries Nel,

9. The Deputy Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform, Ms Pamela Tshwete.

Find Love!