ANC loses Nelson Mandela Bay

2016-08-05 14:46
(Thulani Gqirana, News24)

Port Elizabeth – After two days of nervous waiting, the DA has been declared the official winner in Nelson Mandela Bay.

The party managed to wrestle away the hotly contested region from the ANC, in a tight race to the finish line.

The IEC anounced the provisional results for the metro early on Friday afternoon. Final results are expected to be announced on Saturday.

According to these preliminary numbers, the DA secured almost 45 000 more voted than the ANC.

Map for for Nelson Mandela Bay

While the DA received the majority of votes, at 47.7%, it is not enough for an outright majority.

The ANC walked away with 41.79% of the votes and the EFF got 5.23%.

The DA now has 57 seats, of which 34 are proportional representation (PR) seats. 

The ANC has 50 seats, of which 36 are ward seats.

The EFF has one ward seat and 5 PR seats (38 951 votes).

The UDM has 1.96%, leaving them with two seats. Over 14 000 people voted for the UDM.

Nelson Mandela Bay is now a hung council, and therefore open to coalitions.

This follows intensive campaigning in the region, as political parties all want to stake a claim in the hotly contested metro.

Map for for Nelson Mandela Bay

In 2011, the ANC won the metro by a slim margin, getting 51.91% of the votes, with the DA walking away with 40.13%.

- Find everything you need to know about the 2016 Local Government Elections at our News24 Elections site, including the latest news and detailed, interactive maps for how South Africa has voted over the past 3 elections, or download the app for iOS and Android.

Read more on: da  |  anc  |  athol trollip  |  danny jordaan  |  port elizabeth  |  local elections 2016