UPDATE: What the 6th Parliament will look like

2019-05-11 16:12
The National Assembly is seen.
The National Assembly. (Esa Alexander, Gallo Images, The Times, file)

With all votes counted, parties will now look to fill their seats in the Sixth Parliament.

The ANC, with just over 10 million votes, secured 230 seats in the Sixth Parliament. The ruling party did however lose 19 seats.

The DA also lost 5 seats, having won 84 seats in 2019 elections compared to the 89 seats they won in 2014.

The EFF almost doubled their Parliament presence, going from 25 to 44 seats after getting 1.8 million votes in the 2019 elections.

The IFP also increased their Parliamentary seats, from 10 to 14, while the FF Plus went from 4 to 10 seats

The ACDP won 4 seats, while the UDM won 3 seats.

Political newcomers GOOD and ATM each won 2 seats.

The NFP, AIC and COPE will all remain in Parliament after getting 2 seats per party, while the PAC and AL JAMA each got 1 seat.

Find everything you need to know about the 2019 National and Provincial Government Elections at our News24 Elections site, including the latest news and detailed, interactive maps for how South Africa has voted over the past 3 elections. Make sure your News24 app is updated to access all our elections coverage in one place.

,election 2019

Read more on: da  |  anc  |  iec  |  good party  |  eff  |  elections 2019