CAPE TOWN Mostly sunny. Mild.

7 day
  • Monday 19-24°c More sun than clouds. Mild. More sun than clouds. Mild.
    Tuesday 19-23°c Scattered showers. Decreasing cloudiness. Mild. Scattered showers. Decreasing cloudiness. Mild.
    Wednesday 17-22°c Sunny. Cool. Sunny. Cool.
    Thursday 17-23°c Sunny. Mild. Sunny. Mild.
    Friday 17-25°c Sunny. Mild. Sunny. Mild.
    Saturday 20-24°c Sunny. Mild. Sunny. Mild.
More Party Info

PARTY: African National Congress

2009-03-02 09:37
ANC logo (Supplied)

The African National Congress (ANC) has been South Africa's governing party since the establishment of majority rule in April 1994. Members first founded the organisation as the South African Native National Congress (SANNC) on 8 January 1912 in Bloemfontein - in order to protest injustices against the black South African population. John Dube, its first president, and poet and author Sol Plaatje, are among its founding members. The organisation became the ANC in 1923, and formed a military wing, Umkhonto we Sizwe (Spear of the Nation) in 1961.
Source: (

ANC local government elections manifesto.

ANC 2011 Local Elections Results:

With 57.6% national voter turnout - the biggest ever since 1994, the African National Congress won the highest number of seats and councils: 198 councils and 5 633 seats constituting 62% of the vote - a 2.25% increase from the 2009 election results.

In order of highest votes in the Municipal Elections, here is how the ANC performed:

Limpopo - 81.63%

Mpumalanga 78.90%

North West 74.99%

Eastern Cape with 73.44%

Free State 71.44%

Northern Cape with 63.57%

Gauteng 60.21%

KZN 56.57%

Western Cape 34.07%

Contact details:

Website: and
Telephone: 0867 177 077
Facebook:African National Congress
Twitter: ANC Info
Physical address: Chief Albert Luthuli House, 54 Sauer Street, Johannesburg
Postal address: PO Box 61884, Marshalltown, 2107
More stories: ANC on News24

1994 Election: 62.65% 12 237 655 votes
1999 Election: 66.35% 10 473 175 votes
2004 Election: 69.69% 10 880 915 votes
2009 Election: 65.90% 11 650 748 votes   


Jacob Zuma - ANC president
Jacob Zuma was born in 1942 in Inkandla, KwaZulu-Natal. He became involved in politics at an early age, joining the ANC in 1959. He became an active member of Umkhonto we Sizwe in 1962. While on his way out of the country in 1963, he was arrested with a group of 45 recruits near Zeerust, and sentenced to 10 years' imprisonment on Robben Island. After his release, Zuma helped mobilise internal resistance and was instrumental in the re-establishment of ANC underground structures in the then Natal between 1973 and 1975. He left South Africa in 1975 and became a member of the ANC National Executive Committee (NEC) in 1977. By the end of the 1980s he was head of the ANC Intelligence Department. Following the unbanning of the ANC in February 1990, he was one of the first ANC leaders to return to South Africa to begin the process of negotiations. In 1991, at the first ANC conference held in South Africa since 1959, he was elected the deputy secretary general. After the 1994 elections, Zuma was appointed MEC of economic affairs and tourism in KwaZulu-Natal. In December 1994, he was elected ANC national chairperson. He was elected ANC deputy president in December 1997. He served as deputy president of South Africa from 1999 to 2005. He was elected ANC president in December 2007. He was elected president in 2009 and inaugurated at the Union Buildings on 9 May 2009.

Cyril Ramaphosa - ANC deputy president
Cyril Ramaphosa was born in Soweto in 1952. He studied law at the University of the North, during which time he became involved in student politics and was detained by the apartheid police on two occasions. He worked as a law clerk before becoming a political activist and trade union leader, being elected the first secretary of the National Union of Mineworkers. He later became the secretary general of the ANC in 1991 and formed part of the negotiations to end apartheid. Ramaphosa was elected a Member of Parliament in 1994, but resigned from politics in 1997 to move into the private sector. He was elected onto the ANC National Executive Committee in 2007, and in 2012 he was elected deputy president at the 53rd ANC national conference in Mangaung in 2012.

Gwede Mantashe - ANC secretary general
Gwede Mantashe was born in the rural Transkei. He joined the National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) while working at Matla Coal in 1982. From 1985 to 1988 he was NUM regional secretary in Witbank, and then served as the union's national organiser until 1993.From 1994 to 1998 he was NUM assistant general secretary, becoming general secretary in 1998. He stepped down from this position in May 2006, and was appointed an executive director at the Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA). In 2007 he was elected chairperson of the South African Communist Party (SACP), and was elected ANC secretary general in December 2007 and re-elected in 2012. Like the deputy secretary general and treasurer general, Mantashe is based at ANC headquarters full-time.

Information supplied by the ANC

Read more on: anc  |  politics  |  local elections 2016

More In This Category
PARTY: Freedom Front Plus

Find out more about the Freedom Front Plus.

PARTY: United Democratic Movement

Click here to find out more anout the United Democratic Movement.

PARTY: Inkatha Freedom Party

Click here to find out more about the Inkatha Freedom Party.

PARTY: Economic Freedom Fighters

Click here to find out more about the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF).

Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
News24 |   OLX  |  PROPERTY24  |  CAREERS24  |  SPREE  |