Distell clears up directors' moves

Stellenbosch - Following the announcement on Sens about changes in directors at Distell, the company has had some enquiries from stakeholders as to what brought about the changes.

PF Carolin, C Gous, CLC Snyman, JJ Venter and DM Ullrich have  resigned as executive directors from the board of Distell Limited,  with effect from 15 April 2016. D Carruthers, SJ Nathan, KS Rycroft and JP van der Walt have been appointed as executive directors on the board of Distell Limited,  with effect 15 April 2016.”
Distell said on Monday that these changes apply only to the internal leadership of Distell and do not affect the Distell Group Limited board of directors. The changes are attributable to two developments at Distell over the past few years, namely the resignation or retirement of certain directors and the appointment of other directors in their place; and a change in Distell’s organisation-design following the revision of its corporate strategy, the company said in a statement.

Early in 2014, Distell significantly revised its corporate strategy. Although this was an evolutionary rather than a revolutionary change, it did require an organisational redesign.
Carina Gous, formerly business director: wines, ultimately became director: luxury brands, and Debra Ullrich née Clausen, formerly acting director of global marketing, became director: accessible power brands. Both currently report to global marketing director Dave Carruthers.

Caroline Snyman, formerly business director: spirits segment, is now marketing director Southern Africa. She succeeded Donovan Hegland, who was promoted to managing director of the Africa business region. She reports to the managing director of Distell Southern Africa, Wim Bührmann.

Pieter Carolin continues in his role as director: distribution Southern Africa, reporting to the managing director of Distell Southern Africa, Wim Bührmann.

Johan Venter has recently moved into a new role within the supply chain leadership team, reporting to Schalk Klopper, director: supply chain. Johan is now head: centre of excellence intrinsic.

Following these changes to align the various portfolios with the revised corporate strategy, the Distell management board was replaced by a smaller executive committee comprising the group managing director’s direct reports. The remaining executive directors of Distell Limited, as well as the company secretary, are all members of the executive committee, which meets monthly. The other directors remain members of an extended Distell leadership team that meets quarterly.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Rand - Dollar
Rand - Pound
Rand - Euro
Rand - Aus dollar
Rand - Yen
Brent Crude
Top 40
All Share
Resource 10
Industrial 25
Financial 15
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes Iress logo
Company Snapshot