Did you know?

By admin
29 November 2013

• South Africa has 11 official languages.

• English is the mother tongue of 3.5 million South Africans of all ethnic backgrounds, according to a study on South African English.

• Although the Constitution guarantees the equality of all languages, English is by far the most used language. The president speaks English when he makes speeches; national conferences are held largely in English; in Parliament, although all official languages may be used, English is the main language; tertiary education is in English, with the exception of some of the Afrikaans-language campuses.