Nominees honoured In Mbokodo Women In Arts Awards 2015

By Faeza
25 August 2015

The Mbokodo Awards are a partnership between the Department of Arts and Culture and Carol Bouwer Productions, provide a consolidated platform for promoting and celebrating the outstanding role of women in the arts which did not exist when the awards were conceptualised in 2010. The shortlist for the Mbokodo Awards 2015 has been released.

Carol Bower, Executive Producer for Mbokodo Awards says “The awards celebrate the way women in arts and culture have contributed to the South African process of social cohesion over the past two decades of our new democracy. They also encourage them to renew their commitment to this vital endeavor.”

The 2015 Mbokodo Award winners be honoured at a gala function being held at the Johannesburg City Hall on Friday, 11 September 2015 hosted by 2013 Mbokodo Award winner in the Comedy Category, Tumi Morake.

“Singer Yvonne Chaka Chaka and fashion designer Marianne Fassler will both be honoured as Mbokodo Arts Ambassadors as well as legendary jazz artist Thandi Klaasen will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award” Bouwer continued to say.

Women at the heart of South Africa’s arts and culture will be been honoured. They range from film-maker and actor Terry Pheto and comedian Irit Noble to musician Zolani Mahola, photographer Jodi Bieber and arts promoter Brenda Sisane. The full list of nominees is available at:

The Mbokodo Awards have a national and a nation-building footprint so nominees come from all cultural groups and from across the country.