SAMA Nominees Announced

By admin
13 March 2015

The nominees for the 21st annual South African Music Awards have been announced live from The Rand Club in Johannesburg on Thursday morning.

Here is a full list of nominees:

Album of the Year

Beatenberg - The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Cassper Nyovest - Tsholofelo

K.O. - Skhanda Republic

Ringo Madlingozi - Vulani

The Soil - Nostalgic Moments

Duo or Group of the Year

Beatenberg - The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Bittereinder  - Skerm

BlackByrd - Home

McCoy Mrubata - Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2

The Soil  - Nostalgic Moments

Female Artist of the Year

Bucie - Princess of House (Easy to Love)

Lulu Dikana - I Came to Love

Maleh  - You Make My Heart Go

Moneoa  - Ndim Lo

Simphiwe Dana - Firebrand

Male Artist of the Year

AKA  - Levels

Cassper Nyovest - Tsholofelo

Jimmy Nevis  - The Masses

K.O. - Skhanda Republic

Ringo Madlingozi - Vulani

Newcomer of the Year

Beatenberg - The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Cassper Nyovest - Tsholofelo

Duncan - Street Government

Howie Combrink - Eat it While it’s Hot

Jeremy Loops  - Trading Change

Best Rock Album

aKING – Morning After

Primec Circle – Let the Night In

Reburn - Majestic

Taxi Violence - Tenfold

Zebra & Giraffe – Knuckles

Best Pop Album

Beatenberg – Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Jimmy Nevis – The Masses

Monark - Negatives

The Kiffness – Kiff

Toya Delazy - Ascension

Afrikaans Pop Album

Bobby van Jaarsveld – Maak ‘n Wens

Eden – Nooit Oud Raak Nie

Kurt Darren – Lied Vir Die Vrou

Nadine - Skildery

Riana Nel – Die Regte Tyd

Best Adult Contemporary

Arno Carstens - Lightning Prevails

Blackbyrd - Home

Howie Combrink -  Eat It While It’s Hot

Josie Field - S’bongile

Joe Niemand – Back Again

Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album

Adam Tas – Want Jy Is Boer

Chris Chameleon en Daniella Deysel - Posduif

Dewald Wasserfal – Ek en Jy

Dozi – Hande Vol Genade

Pieter Koen – Wat Die Hart Van Vol Is

Best Traditional Music Album

Botlhale Boikanyo – Spoken Word & Music

Brian Finch – Living For Yesterday

Imfez'emnyama – Palesa

Impumelelo – Isiporoporo

Qadasi - Uhambo Olusha

Best Maskandi Album

Abakamnyandu – KoMalume

Amawele Ka Mamtshawe - Mhla Uphelamandla

Ichwane Lebhaca – Ohulumeni

Maqhinga Radebe - I Facebook

Thokozani Langa - Igema Lami

Best Jazz Album

Herbie Tsoaeli - African Time Quartet in Concert

Kyle Shepherd Trio - Dream State

Marcus Wyatt - Maji in the Land of Milk & Honey

McCoy Mrubata - Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2

Nduduzo Makhathini – Mother Tongue

Best RnB Soul Reggae Album

Afrotraction - For The Lovers

Lulu Dikana - I Came To Love

MoNeOa - Ndim Lo

The Soil – Nostalgic Moments

Vusi Nova - Did It For Love

Best Rap Album

AKA   - Levels

Duncan  - Street Government

Cassper Nyovest - Tsholofelo

K.O. - Skhanda Republic

Reason -  Audio High Definition

Best Kwaito Album

L’vovo Derrango  - The Boss

Phi & Ginger - Licence to Hustle

Professor - University of Kalawa Jazmee Since 1994

Thebe  - Legend

Trompies - Delicious

Best Dance Album

Black Motion - Fortune Teller

Bucie - Princess of House (Easy to Love)

Cuebur - The Brand New Me: Soul Candi Sessions 2015 (Disc 2)

Da Capo - Da Capo

DJ Clock - The 4th Tick: A Clockumentary

Best Classical and/or Instrumental AlbumCH2 Guitar Duo - Soos in die Ou Dae

Charl du Plessis Trio - Baroqueswing

Tony Cox -  Padkos

University of Pretoria - Phoenix Camerata

Best Traditional Faith Album

Andile Kamajola - Chapter 6 Ujehova Ungibiyele

Rebecca Malope - Ama VIP

Rofhiwa Manyaga - Victory in the Blood

Sfiso Ncwane - Bayede Baba

Worship House - Live Project 11

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album

Khaya Mthethwa - The Uprising Limited Edition

Loyiso – Power Love Sound

Ndo Dlakadla - Rhythm of Worship

Tybelo – He’s Alive

Word & Life Worship – Freedom

Best African Adult Album

Kelly Khumalo - Back To My Roots

Maleh - You Make My Heart Go

MaxHoba - Traveling Man

Ringo Madlingozi – Vulani

Simphiwe Dana – Firebrand

Best Alternative Album

Bittereinder – Skerm

Bye Beneco – Space Elephant

David Moffatt – Mistress

Jeremy Loops – Trading Change

Tailor – Light

Best Live DVD

Aubrey Peacock and Benjamin Dube for Renewal in His Presence by Benjamin Dube

Ben Heyns for Krone Live by Krone

Robin Kohl for First Decade by Lira

Aubrey Peacock, Benjamin Dube and Oupa Montshiwaga for Spirit Of Praise Vol. 5 by Spirit Of Praise

Barry Pretorius for Innibos is Groot 2014 "Live" by Various Artists

Music Video of the Year

Studio Space for DJ Dimplez ft Dream Team and ANATII – Yaya

Izm Works for Micasa - Turn You On,

Ryan Kruger for Prime Circle - Let The Night In

Kyle Lewis for In Defense Of My Art by Tumi Molekane

Zakes Bantwini for Zakes Bantwini – Ghetto

Best Producer of the Year

Lulu Dikana & Powella Tiemo for I Came To Love by Lulu Dikana

Holidave for KIFF by The Kiffness

Ewald Jv Rensburg for Negatives by Monark

Denholm Harding for Let The Night In by Prime Circle

Wouter Kellerman and Ricky Kej for for Winds Of Samsara by Wouter Kellerman

Best Engineer of the Year

Brian O'Shea, Crighton Goodwill & Maruispopplanet for Johnny Apple by Johnny Apple

Dave Reynolds & Peter Pearlson for The Light of Day by Dave Reynolds

Peter Auret for Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2 by Mccroy Mrubata

Heritage Sound for Let The Night In by Prime Circle

Jürgen von Wechmar, Rogan Kelsey, Ross Fink & Jaziel Sommers for Ascension by Toya Delazy

Best Collaboration

AKA ft. K.O. - Run Jozi

Cassper Nyovest ft. Gusheshe - OkMalumkoolkat

DJ Clock ft. Beatenberg - Pluto

K.O. ft. Kid X - Caracara

The Soil ft. Ladysmith Black Mambazo  - Hamba Uyosebenza

Remix of the Year

DJ Sbu, Robbie Malinga  - Indlela Yam by DJ Sbu & Mojalefa Thebe

Select Play  - Tsiki Tsiki Remix by Duncan

Goldfish Moonwalk Away (Goldfish Moon Landing Mix) Radio Edit by Goldfish

Heavy K  - Personal Paradise Remix by Heavy K

Riky Rick  - Amantombazane by Riky Rick

Category winners to be announced at the awards ceremony:



- International Achievement Awards

- Lifetime Achievement Awards


- Best Selling Album

- Best Selling DVD

- Best Selling Mobile Music Download

- Best Selling Ring-Back Tone

- Best Selling Full-Track Download


Highest Airplay of the Year

- Channel24