Education colleges to become part of varsities

2000-12-19 15:19

Pretoria - Twenty-five colleges of education would become subdivisions of technikons or universities from the end of next month, the Education Department said on Tuesday.

From January 31, they would function under the name of those universities or technikons and from their addresses, Education Minister Kader Asmal said in a notice in the Government Gazette.

Their assets would also be transferred to the universities or technikons. The current property of the affected colleges must still be used for the education and training of teachers, except where otherwise approved by the minister, the notice said.

There would be no change in employment status for employees affected, it said. In Gauteng, the Johannesburg College of Education would become a subdivision of the University of the Witwatersrand, and Onderwyskollege Pretoria would fall under the University of Pretoria.

The University of South Africa would get the SA College for Teacher Education and the SA College of Open Learning in KwaZulu-Natal as subdivisions.

The Esikhawini and Eshowe Colleges of Education would function under the University of Zululand, and the Edgewood College under the University of Natal. Both Gamalakhe and Indumiso Colleges of Education would become part of Natal Technikon.

The two new subdivisions of the Cape Technikon in the Western Cape would be the Boland and Cape Town Colleges of Education.

Other institutions affected, and the colleges to become subdivisions of them, are:

-- Port Elizabeth Technikon: Algoa College of Education;

-- University of Port Elizabeth: Dower College of Education;

-- Eastern Cape Technikon: Cicira and Transkei Colleges of Education;

-- University of the Free State: Bloemfontein College of Education;

-- Vista University, Bloemfontein: Thaba 'Nchu College of Education;

-- University of the North (Qwaqwa campus): Tshiya College;

-- University of the North: Mapulaneng, Mokopane and Mastec Colleges of Education;

-- University of Venda: Makhado and Giyani Colleges of Education;

-- Potchefstroom University: Potchefstroom College of Education; and

-- University of North West: Mankwe College of Education. - Sapa