Amanzimtoti Athletics Club

2017-09-06 06:02
Catharina WarrenPhotoS: supplied

Catharina WarrenPhotoS: supplied

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories


Mandela Day Marathon on Saturday, August 26 and Sunday, August 27:

42.2km Road: S. Mtungwa 03:35:17; M. McCalgan 03:36:55; N. Khathi 03:47:26; S. Gumede 03:49:54; J. Msezane 03:50:49; S. Thango 03:58:59; T. Ndlovu 04:03:00; M. Mhlongo 04:16:44; M. Mpungose 04:18:56; I. Khoza 04:21:48; T. Mntungwa 04:27:45; R. Nothnagel 04:36:16; W. Mtungwa 04:37:41; S. Msomi 04:37:42; M. Radebe 04:38:30; M. Kapp 04:48:37; M. Yokwe 04:48:54; K. Gasa 04:52:54; G. Hall 04:56:10; S. Bhengu 05:02:35; M. Mzimela 05:09:43; T. Machado 05:24:19; G. Duvenhage 05:24:19; J. Bruce 05:24:20; P. Radebe 05:31:59; T. Mthethwa 05:32:56; R. Warren 05:33:58; I. Dlamini 05:38:14

21.1km Road : C. Warren 02:06:47; L. Whiting 02:07:19; J. Nel 02:08:00; L. Mtetwa 02:14:03; E. Toerien 02:19:17; T. Zama 02:24:08; G. Mulders 02:25:06; N. Mbhele 02:27:12; C. Clarisse 02:29:41; R. Cele 02:35:33; C. von Solms 02:36:35; E. Sithole 02:38:21; M. Diamond 02:42:44; M. Cele 02:46:48; C. Webber 02:51:32; H. Dercksen 03:26:46; K. Mtshali 03:39:15; M. Straydom 03:56:26

10km Road: M. Bester (J) 01:08:06; N. Mtshali 01:46:27; K. Balaram 02:58:23

15km trail run: S. Campbell 01:39:00, J. Kruger 02:06:00

Olympic Triathlon : L. Herron 02:31:54

The Nedbank Trail Run was held on Sunday, 27 August, and the following results were recorded:

12km: E. Grobler 53:58 (first position), C. Stange 53:58, J. Kruger 01:41:00

5km: B. Stange 59:15


· Chesterville 10km will be held on the 3rd September at the Chersterville Sports Field, started at 06h00am.

· The Mineshaft 15km Run/Walk will be held on the 17th September at the Queensburgh Harriers, starting at 06h00am.


32 athletes participated in time trials on Wednesday, 23 August. The following results were recorded:

4km Walk: L. Els 29:45; M. Nel 29:45; L. vd Linde 29:45; K. Balaram 31:10; I. Bohmer 37:44; J. Williams 37:48; S. Coulter 37:48; B. Wagner 37:48

4km Run: E. Luckfiel 17:36; D. Swart 17:51; E. Luiz 19:47; J. Duvenhage 20:56; S. Msomi 21:04; B. Luckfiel 21:05; J. Cousins 21:16; B. Hamilton 25:22; R. Sayer 25:22; T. Zama 25:45; N. du Toit 25:57; R. Verrall 26:49; A. Myeza 26:51; T. Henning 28:10; A. Payne 30:55

P. Mngadi 30:25; S. Mthembu 33:00; S. Finn 35:40; R. Hamilton 36:00; E. Grobler 36:01; M. Ngcobo 36:03; S. Mthembu 37:35; S. Farrimond 41:30; V. Mngadi 43:33

Membership and/or social membership applications are still available for 2017.

If you would like to become a member , please visit the club on the first Wednesday evening of the month, from 6pm to 7pm.

Alternatively, email or visit our website for more information and membership forms.

Please note that reflective belts are mandatory for time trials.

Weekly time trials are on Wednesday­ - walkers 5.30pm (4km) and (8km) and runners 6pm (4km) and (8km) options.

Visitors are always welcome to join. Please meet at the clubhouse at Hutchison Park.

Saturdays there is an 11km run and walk from the clubhouse at 5.30am for walkers and 6am for runners. Tea, coffee and biscuits served afterwards.

Visitors are more than welcome to join in and keep fit.

Contact club chairman Alan Payne on 083 463 4533 or club captain Warren Gibson on 082 713 0305 or for junior track and field queries, call Riaan Vosloo on 0784571936.

For new membership queries contact

- Supplied.


Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.