Bucs to miss six players for Cup

2016-07-28 06:00

Orlando Pirates have confirmed the names of six players who have been placed on the transfer-list ahead of the 2016 Carling Black Label Champion Cup sold-out fixture against Kaizer Chiefs at FNB Stadium on 30 July 2016.

The six will therefore not be eligible for selection by fans who had hoped to see them in their starting line-ups for the pre-season fixture, in which the teams are chosen by the fans.

The two biggest names among the six are striker Lehlohonolo Majoro and midfielder Sifiso Myeni, both being Bafana Bafana internationals. Joining them on the transfer list are midfielders Roger Majafa, Letsie Koapeng and Yassar Mugerwa, as well as goal keeper Felipe Ovono.

Majoro has the distinction of playing for both Chiefs and Pirates in the Carling Black Label Champion Cup and was in fact on target in a 1-0 win for the AmaKhosi in 2013, before he switched allegiances to The Buccaneers.

Majoro started the last two Carling Black Label Champion Cup matches for Pirates, while the ever popular Myeni has played in four previous instalments of the fixture and scored a wonderful free-kick last year.

The other four Pirates players have never featured in the in the Carling Black Label Champion Cup before.

Fans that have voted for the players who will longer be available for the Cup will be rewarded with a Super Vote per position to enable them to allocate their votes to other players and still influence the starting line-up

Carling Black Label would like to assure fans who voted for these players that they are still eligible to win the Champion Coach prize. This is an unparalleled experience that affords the winners an opportunity to be part of the technical team on match-day. It also means a lot more thinking for Pirates’ Champion Coaches, after it was revealed last week that they would be without the services of their quartet of players that are headed to the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro – the versatile Abbubaker Mobara, attacking midfielder Gift Motupa, striker Thabiso Kutumela and defender Repo Malepe.

Fans have until midnight on 26 July 2016 to vote for their starting line-up: with the starting line-ups that will represent the clubs on match day be revealed on Sports@10 of on 27 July 2016.

Supporters who cast their votes can win great prizes, including a share of R3-million worth of airtime, match tickets to the showpiece event on 30 July 2016.


Inside News24


Matric Results are coming soon!

Notify me when results become available

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.