Belvedere clinch sixth T20 title

2016-04-14 06:00
Belvedere Cricket Club are all smiles as they enjoy their sixth T20 championship title. Photo: supplied

Belvedere Cricket Club are all smiles as they enjoy their sixth T20 championship title. Photo: supplied

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE Tongaat Cricket Union brought the 2015/2016 season to a close with the final of the T20 competition last weekend.

In a repeat of last season’s final, defending champions Belvedere won the toss and elected to bat first against a highly motivated Fairbreeze team seeking their first T20 title; having been runners-up in six previous attempts in a final.

Belvedere openers Shaun Pillay and Kavil Madheo got the defending champions off to a decent start; hitting 19 runs in the fifth over before Pillay became the first wicket to fall when he was caught behind off the bowling of Nithen Noodley.

Kavil Madheo then looked to up the run rate by hitting three boundaries for four before being bowled out by his brother, Rishen Madheo for a quick fire 16.

Dharmesh Suklall and Chris Govender then looked to steady the ship and combined for a third wicket partnership of 30 before Govender was unlucky to go out after he hit the ball onto his pads, which made it roll back to dislodge the bails.

At 60/3 after 11 tough overs, Fairbreeze felt they were in with a chance of restricting Belvedere batsman and it seemed as if Belvedere would struggle to reach 100. However, a well-played 15 from captain Logan Govender and a brilliant 55 not-out by Dharmesh Sukhlall ensured Belvedere reached 117 runs in their allotted 20 overs.

Pick of the Fairbreeze bowlers were Vishalin Pillay, with 2 wickets for just 20 runs, Nithen Moodley who also ended 2/20 and Rishen Madheo for his 2 wickets for 31 runs. Going into the second innings, Fairbreeze were confident they could chase down the target and seemed to be on their way before a brilliant catch by Chris Govender to oust Haslin Naidoo.

With Naidoo’s exit, Fairbreeze lost their first wicket on a score of 25 runs in the fourth over. 25 /1 soon became 30/3 as veteran Danny Nohari claimed the wickets of Prejlin Govender and Ryan Lalhdaas before clinching the wicket of Theoshan Naidoo, who finished on a well-played 35. As a result, Nohari finished the day with a figure of 3/13.

Fairbreeze’s remaining hope lay with Rishen Madheo, but once he was caught and bowled out by Logan Govender, the writing was on the wall for Fairbreeze. Faraad Shaik (24) was the only other batsman to offer any resistance as Chris Govender wrapped up the tail.

The win for Belvedere saw them claim their sixth T20 title in eight editions of the tournament to remain dominant T20 team in the Tongaat Cricket Union.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.