Falcons athletes strike silver in Comrades 2017

2017-06-15 06:02
Silver medallist Nkosinathi Jili in action at the Comrades Marathon 2017.06.05.

Silver medallist Nkosinathi Jili in action at the Comrades Marathon 2017.06.05.

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE Checkout Verulam Falcons AC’s Derick Gumede and Nkosinathi Jila had an exceptional run in the 2017 Comrades Marathon on Sunday, June 4.

The duo ran the 86.73 km under seven hours, to emerge as the only silver medallists from the North Coast.

Gumede running around four minutes per km, completed in 6:26 and was 61st from a field of 17 031 starters.

Jila ran around 4 ½ minutes per km and completed in 6:57 and was 150th.

Novice Benson Masuku had an inspired second half run to earn the Bill Rowan Medal in a time of 8:51. He was followed shortly by former silver medallist Ravin Singh (08:59) who also received a Bill Rowan medal.

Lindiwe Hlongwa was first Falcons’ female finisher in a time of 9:56. Lindiwe looked strong and relaxed throughout her run. Petite but resilient, Judy Reddy (11:48) was the second Falcons’ lady finisher. An elated and tired Judy, stated she found the race tough but concentrated on moving closer to Pietermaritzburg.

David Mfeka, Sibusiso Sangweni, Nkosinathi Yalo, Ernest Cele, Malungisa Tshkitshwa and Vikash Singh together with Lindiwe received Bronze Medals. Whilst Rajesh Ramnarain, Bonginkosi Ngubane, Nkosingiphile Mkhize, Bala Govender and Logan Pillai together with Judy received Vic Chapham Medals.

Falcons’s chairperson Yunus Doba, who was on route at comrades 2017 said the punishing dry and hot weather slower many runners on the second half.

He congratulated participants and kudos to the Falcons seconding team. Verulam Falcons AC’s 20th anniversary was made more memorable and jubilant when former Falcons member Bongumusa Mthembu won the Comrades in 2014 and 2017. Mthembu started his humble beginnings at Falcons and was a past runner of the club.


1. Derick Bafana Gumede 6:26

2. Nkosinathi Emmanuel Jila 6:57

3. Benson Masuku 8:51

4. Ravin Singh 8:59

5. David Mfeka 9:13

6. Sibusiso Sangweni 9:22

7. Nkosinathi Yalo 9:33

8. Lindiwe Goodness Hlongwa 9:56

9. Ernest Khulekani Cele 10:20

10. Alex Mmeli Ngcobo 10:27

11. Malungisa Tshkitshwa 10:43

12. Vikash Singh 10:58

13. Rajesh Ramnarain 11:01

14. Bonginkosi Jeremia Ngubane 11:31

15. Nkosingiphile Mbuyiseni Mkhize 11:40

16. Bala Govender 11:40

17. Judy Reddy 11:47

18. Logan Pillai 11:59




Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.