Falcons stride into season

2017-02-02 06:01
Members of the Checkout Verulam Falcons got into stride setting their sights for a successful 2017 season. Photo: supplied

Members of the Checkout Verulam Falcons got into stride setting their sights for a successful 2017 season. Photo: supplied

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE sixth leg of the Asmal’s Hypersave Series gained momentum with more than 50 Checkout Verulam­ Falcons members getting into stride and setting their sight on a successful 2017 season recently.

Perfect weather greeted participants on a warm morning with a refreshing southerly breeze assisting runners over the longer distances.

The development series has really given impetus to various aspirants as they extend themselves and better times.

The team was led by encouraging performances by Sagren Reddy and Farouk Kadwa. Walking maestro Eddie Singh led the walkers.

Newcomer Zaakir Adam has shown amazing improvement as he led the 15km runners in a time of 1:25, followed by the diminutive Judy Reddy.

Sipho Silwane and Ismail Adam led the 10km events.

The club said in a statement Divesh Naidoo has shown good intent and progress.


21km runners

Sagran Reddy 2:15

Farouk Kadwa 2:20

Yunus Doba 2:30

Val Naidu 2:30

Cindeera Padavattan 2:30

Vitasha Ramnarayan 2:30

15km runners

Zaakir Adam 1:25

Judy Reddy 1:40

Mongi Tshitikistswa 1:45

Rogani Moodley 1:45

Ashwin Bedesi 1:45

Ignatuis Nehore 1:45

Amras Moodley 1:45

KB Chain 1:54

Abdul Haq Essack 1:54

Danny Govender 2:00

Krish Vadivelu 2:00

Ivan Moodley 2:00

Dean Naidoo 2:03

Divesh Naidoo 2:03

Vigie Naidoo 2:03

Preggie Moodley 2:07

Khalil Cassim 2:09

Joyce Moonsamy 2:15

Thembilihle Mkhize 2:17

Veeran Ramnarayan 2:25

15km Walkers Results

Eddie Singh 1:48

Premi Reddy 2:08

Omash Nundlal 2:11

Romilla Nundlal 2:11

Mogie Padayachee 2:15

Dolly Gujadar 2:17

Christy Ruthnam 2:25

Suzy Ruthnam 2:25

Vincent Reddy 2:32

Ebrahim Asmal 2:32

10km runners

Sipho Silwane 0:45

Ari Perumal 1:07

Bilaal Moyo 1:08

Prudence Ngiba 1:15

Anurdha Nehore 1:20

Daisy Moodley 1:25

Maureen Gordon 1:30

Harshada Fakir 1:30

Ahmed Kadwa 1:47

10km walkers

Ismail Adam 1:30

Salik Adam 1:30

Ravi Perumal 1:49

Fawzia Kadwa 1:55

Zaida Adam 1:55

5km walkers

Nikhil Ramnarayan 0:37

Khalid Ballim 0:45

Mumtaaz Sayed 0:50

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Competition regulation for a growing and inclusive economy

ADVERTORIAL: The Competition Commission of South Africa is conducting advocacy work in the South African automotive aftermarket industry and has gazetted a Draft Code of Conduct for public comment.


WATCH: Man films himself going down water slide upside down as things go very wrong…

What is at first an exciting tummy-turning adventure stunt, quickly turns into a scarily bad idea caught on camera. Take a look:


You won't want to miss...

Best date night restaurants in South Africa
WATCH: Ryan Reynolds offers fans a free tattoo in new Deadpool 2 teaser
Should you date your co-worker?
Hip Cape Town bars to discover this summer
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.