Students elect new leaders

2018-05-25 06:00
Sasco members celebrate their victory.Photo: supplied

Sasco members celebrate their victory.Photo: supplied

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories



THERE was jubilation when South African Students Congress (Sasco) at Esayidi Technical Vocational, Education and Training (Tvet) college retained five seats at the Student Representative Council (SRC) elections held at the Umzimkhulu campus last Thursday.

Economic Freedom Fighters Student Command (EFFSC) won two seats. Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) confirmed smooth elections. Simon Lingani, IEC district manager in Harry Gwala, said that students have showed respect during the elections.
“Before elections started, students raised some concerns which were solved by the IEC,” said Lingani. The position of president was won by Mlungisi Ntanzi with 220 votes and Qiqa Skhosana won the position of secretary with 246 votes.
Nhlakanipho Mqadi won the designation of finance officer with 220 votes while Lindisipho Khuboni won student affairs position with 242 votes. Skhosana and Khuboni represented EFFSC while Ntanzi, Mqadi, Nokubonga Cele, the public relations central officer, Gcina Nxele, the sport, arts and culture officer and Luyanda Nhleko, the public relation officer represented Sasco at the elections.

Linda Mbele, the EFF Harry Gwala former convener said that EFFSC contested elections for the first time at the college and he was pleased with the results.
Esayidi Tvet College Sasco chairperson, Zizipho Landa said that she is happy about the victory of Sasco. “In our manifesto we wanted the college to strengthen security inside student residences, equip library with relevant equipment, maintain the computer laboratory, and install Wi-Fi inside the college. We also wanted the college to make stationary available to students,” said Landa.

Speaking to the Fever, newly elected president, Ntanzi said that his duty is to maintain discipline in the institution and to fight for students’ rights.

Esayidi Tvet College Clydesdale campus also held elections and Methula Rosemil won the seat of president with 171 votes while Lusanda Mjoli retained secretary with 175 votes. The finance officer seat was won by Thulani Gaca with 157 votes and Nkululeko Vilakazi academic officer with 183 votes.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.