Cricketers awarded

2015-04-30 16:15
HONOURED: T.J.M  Malebo was named Mini Cricket Administrator of the Year by the Free State Cricket Union. Malebo of the Toka Primary School is the coach and regional vice-chairperson of Mini Cricket in Rocklands. 
Emile Hendriks

HONOURED: T.J.M Malebo was named Mini Cricket Administrator of the Year by the Free State Cricket Union. Malebo of the Toka Primary School is the coach and regional vice-chairperson of Mini Cricket in Rocklands. Photo: Emile Hendriks

Multimedia   ·   User Galleries   ·   News in Pictures Send us your pictures  ·  Send us your stories

THE Free State Cricket Union recently paid tribute to local cricketers at an annual prize-gi-ving ceremony in Bloemfontein.

Marina van der Walt, marke-ting and events manager at the Free State Cricket Union, said the event was a celebration to honour their outstanding players, coaches and administrators.

“Every year we recognise the hard work and dedication of individuals that drive the passion for cricket.

“Congratulations go out to all the award winners. Your successes are well deserved and will serve as an inspiration to those who will follow you in the years ahead.

“Our thanks and appreciation to all our sponsors and commercial partners,” she said.

The winners for the 2014-’15 season are:

) Mini Cricket Administrator of the Year: T.J.M. Malebo of the Toka Primary School. He is the coach and regional vice chairperson in Rocklands Mini Cricket.

) u.13 Player of the Year: Pheko Moletsane. He is an all-rounder who scored 296 runs for the Free State u.13 team during preparation matches. He also took eight wickets at National Week and featured in the top 10 batters at the week.

) u.15 Player of the Year: Christopher Schreuder. He is the leading run scorer for the Free State u.15 team. He gets this award for the second consecutive year.

) u.17 Player of the Year: Neil Durow. His performance at the u.17 week earned him a place on the Knights Cubs team.

) u.17 Rural Cricket Player of the Year: Mothapisi Seetsi. He averaged 38 with the bat at the u.17 Rural Cricket Week. His performances earned him a spot in the South Africa u.17 Rural Cricket team.

) u.19 Player of the Year: Sean Whitehead. He took ten wickets at the National Week and was rewarded for his efforts with a place in the South African Schools team. He was selected for the South African u.19 team that will tour Bangladesh.

) u.19 Girls Player of the Year: Izel Cilliers. She scored 411 runs in 8 innings with a batting average of 58,71, she took 6 wickets of 148 balls for 137 runs with a strike rate of 24 and economy rate of 5,61 runs per over. She was also selected for the girls u.19 national squad.

) LSEN Player of the Year: Jerome Koekemoer. Fourth year playing for the Free State team for learners from Special Education Needs Schools (LSEN). Captain of the team and a very good fielder.

) Best-Performing Team of the Year: Senior Provincial Team. Played in the final of the provincial 50-over competition. Ended second in the Sunfoil Provincial 3-Day Cup.

) Best-Performing Centre of Excellence of the Year: Kroonstad Centre of Excellence. Best centre by producing more players for all different groups respectively to represent the Free State.

) Differently Abled Cricketer of the Year: Tefo Klaasen. Played a pivotal role in the Proteas World Cup team in all three disciplines of the game. He played in two Blind Cricket World Cups.

) Rural Cricketer of the Year: Marius Swart. He scored over 200 runs during the week and took 4 wickets in the National Rural Tournament.

) Scorer of the Year: Billa Benade. Started scoring the beginning of season 2014-’15 and learned quickly. Went from level D to Level B scorer in one season.

) Umpire Newcomer of the Year: Adrian Field.

) Umpire of the Year: Carin van Deventer

) Affiliate/Associate of the Year Operations: Cricket Eastern Free State

) Free State Cricket Club Championship Representative of the Year: University of the Free State (UFS)

) Women’s Cricket Rookie of the Year: Anneke Bosch

) Women’s Cricket Player of the Year: Masabata Klaas. Have played eight matches for the Proteas since 2010. Her career highlight was a match against England in 2011 at Pepsi ICC Cup. She dismissed the England captain in a LBW for 17 runs.

) Senior Provincial Team Rookie of the Year: Leus du Plooy. In the CSA Sunfoil three-day competition scored 184 runs, average of 46 runs in his debut game against KwaZulu-Natal.

In the CSA 50 Over he played a winning innings in his debut against KwaZulu-Natal scoring 38 of 27 balls to get Free State to 175/7 ultimately resulting in making the final of this competition.

) Senior Provincial Team Most Improved Player of the Year: Andries Gous. Scored 533 runs in CSA Sunfoil three-day competition, at average of 41. Got past 50 in 5 out of the 13 innings he played. One of the most consistent performers of the season. In CSA T20 competition was best batsman scoring 97 in just 4 games average 32,33 and strike rate of 176.

) Senior Provincial Team Player of the Year: Michael Erlank CSA Sunfoil three-day competition scored 559 in just 7 innings, which included 2 hundreds and 3 fifties. Highest score of season 163 against Namibia. Ended 4th highest in South Africa. These performances rightfully earned him a place in the Knights team.

) Presidential Award: Dawie Botha. He is the affiliate that changed the sub-union with pro-active and innovative actions. A successful golf day was held, sponsors were obtained for development at Qwaqwa and in general looking after the wellbeing of cricket in the east

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.
NEXT ON NEWS24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.